Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This recipe is tasty, but for the purists out there -- Cubans do not eat tortillas, sour cream, cheese, etc. Ropa vieja would be served over white rice, with a side of black beans and fried sweet plantains. =) That's what I recommend -- I'm Cuban! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
971 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIMI1414

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
And 5 more stars too! I made this with a 4 lb chuck roast, doubled all the ingredients and added a LOT more garlic (that's my personal preference, but 2 cloves sounded way too light for this much meat!)The only other change I made was to add 2 packets of Goya sazon and some capers near the end. This recipe is as good as ANYTHING you'll get in a cuban restaurant(even in Miami). Served it with moros y christianos (black beans & white rice) for a really traditional cuban meal. A good squeeze of lime on top is all it needs. do try this..you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My husband is Cuban and he loved this dish! As suggested by other reviewers, I increased the amount of garlic. I did add some extra cumin and some salt towards the end to adjust the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I bought a crock pot specifically for this recipe. I could not have been HAPPIER!!! I made this ropa vieja for my boyfriend's 30th birthday and I got nothing but rave reviews for days to come! The only changes I made was I added an entire head of garlic (chopped) and 1/2 a 7oz jar of diced red pimientos, in addition to all the other ingredients. I also took out some of the liquid approx 1 hour prior to finishing (on the 4 hours HIGH mode), shredded the meat then, and added 2 tblspns of Brown Sugar, then stirred. This really made the flavors come alive by the end of the 4 hours. Probably one of the best recipes I've ever made! Served over white rice, black beans, w/ salad. THank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This came out great. I served it with black beans, white rice, and maduros (sweet plantains). I did however only give it a 4 because I did make some adjustments to make it come out more flavorful. First, I made sure to season and marinade the beef the night before. I seasoned the meat with a badia complete season (used often in hispanic dishes) and some badia chimmichuri sauce. I then sprinkled it with garlic salt and rubbed some more minced garlic as well. I then wrapped the beef in saran wrap to sit over night. In the morning I tossed the remaining ingridients as listed and went to work. It came out wonderfully seasoned and not at all bland like other reviews said. I will definetly make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONMYST17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I was happy to find this quick version of a recipe I got from a gourmet magazine and it was just as good! As per the gourmet version, I added a lot more garlic (5 cloves but will probably use even more next time) and 1/4 cup of capers at the end, which added a nice salty/tangy flavor. Next time I will try this with a can of drained tomatoes rather than the sauce because I think there was more than enough liquid with the beef stock. I think the nicest thing about this recipe is that it uses many fresh ingredients rather than canned or powdered soup, etc. that seems to be popular in crock-pot cooking. This might take a few more minutes to prepare than some other crock-pot recipes but it is definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Marvelous! I used the pressure cooker to save time. Added the beef to the pressure cooker with some water. Also added a beef boullion cube (to make beef broth). After pressure cooker stabalized I cooked it 20 minutes. I used London Broil steak. Turned off heat and let it sit 10 minutes in the PC. Then took meat out shredded it with a fork. Took out 1.5 cups of beef water to use as broth. Next stir-fried the onions, peppers garlic 3 minutes. Then added the other ingredients + a bay leaf. Simmered it covered for 30 minutes. Used apple cider vinegar, it still is delicous! Served it with black beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
my grandmother is Cuban and makes Ropa Vieja. When I told her I made it ...she tried it and loved it. This recipe just might be as good as hers. Love it , love it, love it. Only suggestion is...if you want it a little saucier....add more tomato sauce...we like it that way. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Garcia Glass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe is to die for! I can create a meal that tastes just like I've been to an authentic Cuban restaurant. The only suggestions that I would make are: 1. you don't need to go out and buy fresh cilantro, that will only go to waste in your fridge - the recipe is just as good without it!, 2. If you don't like too much of a tomato flavor, I would suggest using less tomato sauce and more beef broth. Either way, the recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
We thought this was average in taste. I cooked this on high for 4 1/2 hours, after which it still wasn't as tender as I was hoping and was quite chewy. I agree that it could use some salt and I suggest using a boneless chuck roast rather than flank steak (cooking on low for 8 hrs), which I personally think would yield a much better result. It has potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States