Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This recipe is super basic...I had to change this recipe considerably to make it taste good. I used sherry vinegar instead of white, used 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 2 tablespoons of cumin, a small green and red bell pepper for color/taste, 1 large shallot, 4 cloves of smashed garlic, 1/4 cup pitted and halved pimiento stuffed olives, 3 tablespoons of tomato paste (instead of a can), a can of crushed tomatoes with jalapeno instead of tomato sauce, ground fresh pepper, 2 bay leaves, and I added 1/2 cup of red wine. If this is going to be in your slow cooker for more than 4 hours then you need to increase the amount of liquid you use. I usually put in 1/4 cup for each hour! Also, you can serve with black beans which you cook with soffrito and plain white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Love it. I used flank steak the first time but, chuck roast was better the second time (much more tender). I also add olives...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I used a chuck roast because it was 1/2 the price of flank steak, used a sweet red pepper along with the green pepper. What a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I didn't find this authentic tasting at all. A bit disappointed. I LOVE Cuban food, have eaten a lot of it but this just didn't do anything for me. I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used a sirloin blade steak (couldnt find flank) and 1/4 cup more of beef broth. Other than that- followed exactly. cooked on low for 6.5 hours. Served with spanish rice and grilled tortillas. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Was easy to make and came out yummy. I should have cut the steak in shorter pieces so it's not so stringy. I had it with tortilla wraps, nom nom. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I tried this today .. I used more garlic and cumin just like the reviewers said. it tasted good .. just not great.. but it's good for a change. I would do it again .. but I think next time I will add a little bit of olive oil on top of it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Dax liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
After I read the comments about "tastelessness", I seasoned the meat before browning with salt and pepper. And second, when I re-read the recipe, I thought maybe the author forgot to write in Oregano. I added 2 tsp. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
It was delightful. I gave it a 4 because I had to make some adjustments. However I can't complain at all this recipe made it possible to cook a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States