Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Did not come out at all like I expected. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Dyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My husband really loved this dish. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used pureed Rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I added one jalapeño, chopped with seeds and about a dozen pimento-stuffed olives, cut in half. This turned out great! For me, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is a delicious recipe... Make it over rice and fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monkeysov
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was super easy to make. You really need a fatty cut of beef or it will be kind of chewy. I would recommend giving this recipe a try. I'm gonna try to add some heat to it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe to the T and it turned out very bland... It definitely needs salt, to say the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I read some of the reviews and changed the recipe a little bit. I used a beef brisket (sale) added more garlic, Spanish dry cooking wine, sodium free beef broth, green & red peppers. Every time we visit friends in Miami and go to our favorite restaurant my husband orders Ropa Vieja, which is his favorite meal. He said it was delicious! It even tastes better the next day :) thank you for sharing your recipe and it was a HIT in our home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this recipe with a few ingredients more and I know it is not the traditional way but I didnt have beef so made it with chicken lol... 1/4 tsp chilli powder and 1/4 tsp coriander... great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My cuban fiancee LOVES this recipe. Absolutely goes nuts every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Really good flavor and liquid to meat ratio with the following adjustments: Salt/pepper the meat before searing, add a pinch of oregano, use more cumin, and omit the 8 oz. tomato sauce. I cooked on low for 7 hrs, but the meat still came out kind of chewy, and definitely stringy. Might try a different cut next time, since flank steak is not known for its tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States