Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I've never had Cuban food before so I can't comment on authenticity or the proper way this dish should be served, but taste wise, this was fantastic! We did use a chuck roast instead of flank for personal preference and served it as suggested by the author of this recipe on tortillas, with jack cheese, sour cream and cilantro. It was a nice change from our usual tacos......even though I know this isn't supposed to be tacos. I did also salt & pepper the beef as I browned it, to me, that's just a given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
A very delicious recipe. A big hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is amazing! My boyfriend and his son could not get enough. Must make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Excellent! I used a pot roast and served it over garlic mashed potatoes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
really liked this. it was easy to make. I did drain mine at the end, cook down the juice to make a more concentrated flavor with 1/2 cup of white wine, as a reduction sauce. I added the bell pepper at the begining of cooking along with 8-10 serranos because we like a little heat. At the end of cooking when meat was shredded and while the sauce was cooking down, I sauted another large onion and several more bell peppers cut into strips until tender and then added this to the finished dish because we like more veggies with our meat (we grow produce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This recipe is not very authentic but I figured that I would give it a shot anyway. Big mistake - ropa vieja is a savory dish and the can of tomato made it slightly sweet. I also agree with the reviewer that said this wouldn't ever be served with tortillas or sour cream - Cubans eat bread. I wanted to like this but overall it fell flat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Everyone loved it! Kids were asking to take leftovers to school for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Did not come out at all like I expected. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Dyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My husband really loved this dish. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used pureed Rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I added one jalapeño, chopped with seeds and about a dozen pimento-stuffed olives, cut in half. This turned out great! For me, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States