Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made exactly as recipe states and served on tortillas with fresh cilantro. My whole family enjoyed. I would've given this 5 stars but the meat was a bit chewy,, not sure if there is a better meat for this recipe. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
everything is on target with the exception of 1 key ingredient which is the mystery ingredient behind ropa vieja and picadillo....1 packet of Goya sazon sin achotes. You can find it in the Hispanic section of the grocery store. It comes in a box. Cut down on the tomato sauce/paste a little and you have an authentic recipe. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
We love this one served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
We left out the green peppers, but it was delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe, but when it was cooked, it still didn't have that strong vinegar taste, like the Cuban ropa vieja does. So I ended up adding 4 tablespoons of vinegar, instead of just one. Other than that it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe was tasty, but too much tomato for my family. I grew up with Cubans, and there was never that much tomato in their recipe. Next time I will cut the tomato sauce and paste by half, and add the cilantro at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
It was a big success and a huge hit. I used the flank steak and didn't find it to have the same issues other commenters have stated. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent, this recipe is a keeper. The meat was tender. I cooked 1 hr on low, another 3 on High and last hour on low. The sauce/juice was think. I served it with yellow rice, black beans and yellow sweet plantains fried in butter. This recipe is a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written and I thought it was good as a basic shredded beef recipe, but I would definitely recommend adding something to give it a little kick. I could see kids liking it cuz it's kinda bland, but my hubby and I agreed it could use a little heat. I will make it again, but next time I will add some tabasco or some chopped jalapenos. I'm not the kind of person who likes things really spicy, but just things to have lots of flavor. Green chiles might be good to add, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
this was delish! I made exactly how it said to make it. We used the meat added black beans and made burritos out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States