Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My husband really loved this dish. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I used pureed Rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I added one jalapeño, chopped with seeds and about a dozen pimento-stuffed olives, cut in half. This turned out great! For me, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is a delicious recipe... Make it over rice and fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monkeysov
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was super easy to make. You really need a fatty cut of beef or it will be kind of chewy. I would recommend giving this recipe a try. I'm gonna try to add some heat to it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe to the T and it turned out very bland... It definitely needs salt, to say the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I read some of the reviews and changed the recipe a little bit. I used a beef brisket (sale) added more garlic, Spanish dry cooking wine, sodium free beef broth, green & red peppers. Every time we visit friends in Miami and go to our favorite restaurant my husband orders Ropa Vieja, which is his favorite meal. He said it was delicious! It even tastes better the next day :) thank you for sharing your recipe and it was a HIT in our home :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I made this recipe with a few ingredients more and I know it is not the traditional way but I didnt have beef so made it with chicken lol... 1/4 tsp chilli powder and 1/4 tsp coriander... great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My cuban fiancee LOVES this recipe. Absolutely goes nuts every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Really good flavor and liquid to meat ratio with the following adjustments: Salt/pepper the meat before searing, add a pinch of oregano, use more cumin, and omit the 8 oz. tomato sauce. I cooked on low for 7 hrs, but the meat still came out kind of chewy, and definitely stringy. Might try a different cut next time, since flank steak is not known for its tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This recipe is super basic...I had to change this recipe considerably to make it taste good. I used sherry vinegar instead of white, used 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 2 tablespoons of cumin, a small green and red bell pepper for color/taste, 1 large shallot, 4 cloves of smashed garlic, 1/4 cup pitted and halved pimiento stuffed olives, 3 tablespoons of tomato paste (instead of a can), a can of crushed tomatoes with jalapeno instead of tomato sauce, ground fresh pepper, 2 bay leaves, and I added 1/2 cup of red wine. If this is going to be in your slow cooker for more than 4 hours then you need to increase the amount of liquid you use. I usually put in 1/4 cup for each hour! Also, you can serve with black beans which you cook with soffrito and plain white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States