Cuban Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
this is a tasty recipe, very close to a dear cuban mother of a friend of mine, with a couple additions as another reviewer mentioned. do not leave out raisins and olives. i also add chopped tomatoes, cumin, a bay leaf, and a dash of red pepper flakes, and stock instead of water. one of the tastiest ground beef recipes up their with spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessielude
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I have been looking for a good picadillo recipe since I grew up in Miami and this type of cuisine is common. I love the sweet/salty flavors of the raisins (I used golden raisins, as I've never seen it served with black raisins in Miami) and olives. I'm not a big olive fan per say, but the flavors meld nicely that you don't go, "hey, this has olives, eww.." :) Almost all of the ingredients are there but I switched up the order. I started with the traditional Sofrito before I even cooked the beef. (Saute onions, garlic in olive oil until clear, then add cumin, oregano, red pepper, two 8 oz cans of Goya tomato sauce and red and green bell peppers then letting liquid reduce/thicken) To this I added the remainder of the ingredients and then let the liquid cook down into the ground beef. Don't worry if it seems like you're not actually "browning" the ground beef with all the liquid present as the sauce eventually evaporates and makes the beef very flavorful. I served this with white rice and tradionally seasoned black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessielude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
What a delightful dish! Ok, I did make some changes after reading the reviews. I made half a recipe. I sauted the onions and garlic, then made the sofrito by adding to pot 16 oz. of tomato sauce, an equal amount of water, the chopped sweet red pepper, 1 tsp. oregano, 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. coriander, 3/4 cup raisins, 1-5oz. jar of green olives sliced in half, a half jar of the olive brine, 1/8 tsp. hot pepper sauce, 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes. I brought this to a boil, added the uncooked ground beef and let it all cook down. It tastes fantastic! The hot sauce and red pepper flakes did not make it hot, just mellow. I am serving it over brown rice. I was going to make coconut rice as another reviewer did, but decided the raisins made it sweet enough. I have not had much Cuban food in my lifetime and this is a real treat! Thanks to the other reviewers for their good comments, and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I've never even had Cuban food, but wanted to make something for a friend who grew up in Miami and misses it. I have to admit I was nervous about tasting it after looking at the ingredients...but it's good! I followed one person's advice and left out the cilantro to make it more authentic (used it today to make cilantro pesto). This a unique, surprising dish; several of my (very white American) friends have tried it and liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
My kids and I really liked this recipe. I used stir fry beef instead of hamburger, chopping it up after it was browned like they do at Baja Fresh and other taco places. I served it with coconut rice - very good combination. To make coconut rice, cook 1/4 onion or 1/2 shallot in 1T butter til tender, add 1 cup jasmine rice, 3/4 cup coconut milk and 1 c water, bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 18 minutes. Stir in a dash of nutmeg if you like and serve either beside or under the picadillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Good taste my husband and son liked it without adding salt or anything else. I will serve at a dinner for our drama group on Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallyc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
We had a Cuban themed housewarming party, and I made this and used it as a stuffing for mushrooms. All of the guest raved about the flavor combination. I did use golden raisins instead of plain raisins and cut down some on the green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Much better with the cilantro. I cooked everthing and was finished. I forgot to buy cilantro. It tasted like something was missing. I quickly went to the store and bought the already chopped cilantro and mixed it in the food. Boy, what a difference! Even the picky daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is exactly like my Grandmother Vallejo used to make and we also eat it with black beans and white rice with sweet plantains.all that is missing is the flan for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great base recipe and halved recipe because only cooking for 2. Modifications I made were using all red bell pepper, 8 oz black olives, 8 oz tomato sauce + 2 cups water and decreased raisins to 1/4 cup. Also added 2 small potatoes (diced) and about 1 tbsp of capers. Delicious with black beans and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States