Cuban Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was wonderful and I enjoyed it for lunch for several days. I took some suggestions: I bought a jar of Sofrito to cook with the ground beef. I had no idea how much to add, but since I had 3 lbs. of beef I added the entire jar. I left out the tomato paste. I'd like to make my own Sofrito - it tasted a lot like pizza sauce which means I can make something even better. I rinsed the olives to remove some of the salt. I used the full amount of raisins and olives - don't omit either. We ate it over white rice with mixture of black beans and Rotel (with a little cumin added). My teenaged son wasn't crazy about it, but he's just now learning to deal with different flavors. Husband loved it! It's in my Top 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Have been making Picadillo since 1959 when I brought the recipe back from Havana. We could visit Cuba then. I followed other reviewers tweeks and started with a sofrito. The meat melted in it and took up flavors. I did miss the allspice I've always used. Anyone else use alspice in this? Great recipe. We all loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Seale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Recipe is good but for true authentic cuban picadillo LEAVE OUT CILANTRO! try with white rice & black beans & plantain chips...cuban comfort food at its best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is good! I don't like ground beef- being kind of a beef snob, so I browned cubed filet. It had to cook longer for the meat to be really tender but the texture was more what I associate with the kind of picadillo i've always eaten. I agree that the cilantro is not traditional but it's a nice idea for something different. Also starting without a sofrito is not traditional but overall the taste isn't that different. I liked this- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Well, I would not add cilantro - maybe they are trying to make a different version of Picadillo - but cilantro is not really a Cuban herb. My best friend is Cuban and her Mom gave me a recipe straight from Cuba and they use Cumin and Oregano. She also told me to add Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I've made this twice now. The first time, I used store bought safrito. The second time, I made my own, using the same spices on the sofrito ingredients list. Tomato paste, onion, coriander, onion powder, paprika, garlic powder, oregano, pepper. The first time, I didn't like the occasional big bites of sweet raisins so the next time, I added very few. Then I found myself missing the sweet. Next time, I'll add a few more raisins (but still not as much as the recipe calls for) but chop them finely. First time I served it in warm corn tortillas. Liked that. Second time with coconut rice. It was great both ways but the flavors over power the coconut flavor. I think using the coconut milk is a waste of fat and calories for this reason. Good recipe. We love green olives around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. I have been cooking Cuban and Mexican food for the past few years now. This is my first attempt at Picadillo. I did make the recipe in a smaller amount (for 2) but there was still enough for leftovers! I did improvise and modify a few ingredients, however. I omitted the cilantro, as no Picadillo recipe I have ever had has had Cilantro in it. It's got a strong flavor when used in a big amount like this recipe calls for. First things first, though, I made some homemade Sofrito as per reccomendation of some other reviews. It really made the meat flavorful for sure. Also, make sure to cook/brown the meat IN the Sofrito, as it adds so much flavor. If you get extra lean ground beef, you don't have to worry about fat or grease. And I added capers, about 2 tbsp worth for a meal for 2. I also used 3/4 of the raisins it called for, as well as the olives. I rinsed the olives before adding to get rid of excess salt. I seasoned my meat with Oregano and Cumin before adding to the Sofrito. I let it sit and kind of marinate in the herbs before cooking. I also let the whole mixture marry in the pan for about an hour, to get the extra flavor out of all the vegetables. Most importantly, I added 2 bay leaves. I think this made a huge difference. I let the Sofrito cook down a bit and reduce before adding the meat, also. It came out perfect with all of the modifications I made! Give it a try and I'm sure your family will absolutely love it. I let my kids try it - A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband, 18-yr-old daughter and I just loved this. We incorporated a lot of the suggestions: added 1/4c rinsed capers, used 1c golden raisins, one 6oz can of tomato paste AND 3 tomatoes chopped; 1/3 c fresh cilantro; used only 1c sliced green olives. We served it with the Coconut Jasmine Rice another poster suggested (Yummy, A++ on that rice!). Recipe makes enough for 2nds tonight and lunches tomorrow. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This recipe is easy and really good. It's different than the usual fare but simple to put together. I made it using the "sofrito" sauce made ahead of time. Only problem was the sauce needs to be on really low and stirred often to prevent the tomato scorching on the bottom. Had to salvage it by quickly pouring it into another skillet leaving the burned part behind. It really does need all those raisins and olives. Don't skimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States