Cuban Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CJHernandez
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This was such an easy recipe to make. Loved it so very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJHernandez

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I would not add raisins. I only like empanada fillings with raisins in the picadillo. My mother used to add some of the olive brine into her recipe. She also never precooked the beef she added all ingredients into the pot and let it cook. and yes the olives taste great in it. She used the ones with the pimento inside. Also the pronunciation of the double L has a Y sound so you would pronounce it Picadiyo in English.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was good. I made some changes after reading about 'true' Cuban Picadillo. The recipe I made was a lot different than the one listed, unfortunately. This recipe is a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crookston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hannah, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This dish turned out fabulous even my husband loved it. I cut the serving in half since it's just me and my husband. This was still enough for leftovers for us the following day. I took the advice of another reviewer and sauteed the onions and garlic in olive oil. Then added the bell pepper, tomato sauce, 1 bay leaf, 1/2 tsp of cumin and 1/2 tsp of oregano. I let it simmer for a bit until liquid reduces a little bit. Then I added a pinch of salt, ground beef, 3/4 raisins, and chopped olives. The ground beef absorbed the flavors. Yum Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sher345

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
My "suegra" (mother in law) always makes this for me!!! But She serves it over "papas pudding" aka mash potatoes. Of coarse she does it with the sofriato as described previously, however I think I prefer this method bc I can drain the fat. I did not use the raisin or the cilantro bc that is not what I am used to. I did add cumin to meat as it cooked which makes it taste more Cuban to me. Good recipe! Whole family loved it even though not as good as my suegra (no one can compare with her she is the best Cuban cook and still lives in Cuba). Was nice to be able to get close to something that reminds me if her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe was good but authentic Picadillo Criollo always has capers, bay leaves, oregano and dry white wine in addition to the items in this recipe. Another variation adds cubed fried potatoes cook in with the picadillo. Both versions are delicious. But your recipe was simple and good. Just some tips from a Cuban cook who makes Picadillo Criollo one a week by family request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I've made this twice now. My family doesn't like beef, so I substitute boneless skinless chicken breasts. I added cumin and cayenne, salt, pepper, and paprika. Finally, I drained the olive jar into the pot as it seemed a more flavorful option than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I had Picadillo at a Cuban restaurant in New Jersey several years ago and found this recipe to recreate the dish. The dish I tasted also had cubed potatoes in it so you can add them if you wish. My husband was hesitant about olives and raisins going together at first, but I've converted him. Now he has cravings for this! I followed the suggestion of another reviewer to make sofrito first before cooking the ground beef. I modified the recipe a bit by dumping leftover olive juice from a jar of olives (without chopping) to enhance the olive flavor, ditching the cilantro, and adding cumin, chili powder, and a bit of cinnamon powder (my secret ingredient) to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Boston

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very good. followed the recipe and turned out to be a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Left out the cilantro, added in two bays leaves, and started with a Sofrito base--came out wonderfully! Tasted very much like the Picadillo I get in Little Havana! As others have said, was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States