Cuban Midnight Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great recipe...however way to much mayonnaise...I stated filling the measuring cup up as I was reading directions. When I realized it was just to make the spread I stopped filling it up. I only used a little over a half cup and I still had plenty to toss. Because I used less mayo I also cut back to 3 tablespoons dressing. I used mayo with olive oil & fat free 15 calorie wishbone Italian dressing...made a great combo. For the mustard just a plain yellow mustard was wonderful... I also used my George Forman to grill them...a hint if you use your George Forman for any sandwich prop the front up (I use 2 small cans to do this) that way it grills it without being at an angle so it doesnt squish the sandwich that much...would also be great with mozzarella cheese. The only reason I rated it a 4 was because of the extra mayo, even though I tossed some I still felt I put to much on each sandwich trying to use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armygirl207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Eustis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this recipe for a school project and everybody loved it. When I made this at home I got the same results>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sun Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I prefer pork loin slices to turkey, so that's what I used. I baked my own rolls and used the extra mayo / Italian dressing for a dipping sauce, because our local deli does that for their grinders and we have become addicted to it. If you try that, slice the rolls into very skinny wedges to make it easier to dip. Want authentic? Use pork instead of turkey, skip the Italian dressing, and use Cuban rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Good Sandwich, but it's not a cuban
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great Sandwich but not a a Cuban Midnight sandwich. Have one every time I go to Miami. Two totally different taste but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAJIX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Photo by STACII24
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Amazing! I added tomatoes and they were perfect. I recommend squishing the bread down before putting anything into it in order to flatten the top a bit, followed by cooking the bottom first. They were a bit messy to eat but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Good easy recipe, great for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
OK, so maybe this isn't "authentic," but it's a pretty decent sandwich nonetheless. My hubs and I had a heavy lunch (Giordano's Chicago-style deep dish pizza... yummm!!!) and it's been hotter than heck here in the Midwest. We were both a little hungry around dinnertime, but not for super filling fare or anything that required heating up the stove. This fit the bill perfectly. To ease prep, I used my panini press, but that didn't work out too well for me. :( My press flattened each sandwich so much so that the fillings oozed out the sides! Other than this slight mishap, I had no issues with the recipe itself. NOTE: You can reduce the amount of mayo mixture by half and still have more than enough to slather on your sandwiches. I halved this recipe (and the mayo mixture), but still ended up wasting over half of it. I also think the mustard can be reduced by half (i.e. half a T per sandwich). Another observation? Use a wire whisk to mix your mayo / Italian dressing. Mixing with a spoon will do, but your mayo will appear curdled because the oil wasn't properly incorporated (yuck!). Served with black bean soup, sweet potato chips and cuban mojitos, this was a fun Saturday night meal. Thanks for sharing, Maruchy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I thought these were very good. Good left-over also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clyde, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Seriously delicious! Tastes like something you would get at a local deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia2242

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States