Cuban Midnight Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Made a batch of chicken noodle soup and needed a sandwich to compliment it. Scored a home run with this sandwich. The only variation was that I used a Chiabatta bread which presented a challenge because it was to thin to use in the traditional manner. The solution was I cut it in half lengthwise for thickness and then flipped the pieces so that the crust was to the inside and the exposed bread was toward the griddle which browned nicely--a great sandwich bread. Thanks for broadening my culinary and cultural horizons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cz375hh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was looking for a recipe for left over roasted turkey breast. This is a fantastic sandwich! I've made authentic cuban sandwiches before, and never thought of using turkey! The mayo, italian dressing sauce is great,(you can add a little horseradish)! Served these with roasted red potatoes, and everyone enjoyed the extra sauce on the potatoes! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Made it at home for my roommates, and it was great. Added in a few changes though: I mixed in some spanish paprika and ground annatto seeds with the mustard, which gave it a bit stronger taste - I also used spicy mustard for some extra kick. For the meats, I stuck with the turkey and used virginia ham, but I made up some pulled pork the day before and mixed the mustard into that. It may not be a "true" Cuban sandwich, but it still came out delicious...isn't that all that matters?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These are very, very delicious! I did sub out the Swiss for provolone- but that was mainly because my family doesn't like Swiss quite like I do. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it was great! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was a very tasty sandwich with a unique combination of flavors. I just made one sandwich for my lunch so just added the ingredients to taste. And no rolls; I just used whole wheat bread. This was lovely, and I wil make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Cut the mayo mixture to half and use only a TBS of oil for the bread. PLENTY. Made with Turkey ham. 5 out of 5 family members liked this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was delicious! I thought it was restaurant quality. I never had this sandwich before and have no concern about it's authenticity. However, I didn't at all understand the ingredient amounts. So, I just did them all to taste. The only thing I didn't have was the turkey, so I left that out. I used 4 large slices of bread from a Tuscan round loaf. I couldn't understand if the Italian dressing was the liquid kind or the dry packets. I used a Kraft Tuscan Italian bottled dressing. I mixed some up to taste in some lite mayo. I did about 1-2 Tblsp on 2 slices and put a small amount of dijon mustard on the other pieces of bread. I put 2 slices of square ham and 1.5 slices of baby swiss with about 5 hamburger dills each on the mayo slices. To cook it in, I just used about 1 Tblsp. of olive oil. It made the sandwich so much crispier than butter. I am not sure why anyone would need 1/2 cup of olive oil or the full cup of mayo. That seems extremely excessive. My sandwich was still plenty moist on the inside and crispy on the outside. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
When shopping for ingredients for this sandwich I saw Boar's Head "Jamaica Jerk Turkey" behind the deli counter. I sampled a piece and knew that this would be a huge difference maker. Well, it was OUTSTANDING... just the right amount of kick to give this the Cuban zing that it deserves. That's the only change I mind to this great recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These are amazing and easy to make! I didn't have hoagie rolls so I just used french rolls but they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very yummy! I made them pretty much as stated but I used ciabatta bread instead of hoagies and heated the sandwiches in the oven instead of on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States