Cuban Midnight Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
GREAT sandwich! Complimented our soup wonderfully! I used a little less mustard but I mixed it into the mayo/italian dressing mix. By the way - the mayo mix made enough for 8 sandwiches with plenty to spare. Knowing this, I may cut that part in half next time. Also - doing the sandwiches on the stove was a pain. I just put them in the oven (open-faced) for apprx 5-10 minutes and worked out better this way (and more could be done at one time). Still, a wonderful sandwich - authentic or not - that we will be making plenty of times! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
good flavor. quick to put together and cook. i used the george foreman grill -- i cooked them for 4 minutes, making sure to apply some pressure to the handle of the grill and press the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Delicious! Follow the recipe EXACTLY as others have said. FYI-The idea of the foil and plate is to press down the sandwich while it cooks so whatever accomplishes that will do. I used a small frying pan lid to press down. Also, I would recommend you microwave the meat to warm it and take the cheese out ahead so it's not really cold. This will help in the process of cooking the sandwich so that the cheese melts, the meat warms and the bread gets crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2001
This was terrific! My husband and kids loved it! I thought that one cup of mayonnaise was a bit much for 4 sandwiches. I cut it down to 1/4 cup and it made more than enough spread for all the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Very good, and easy to prepare on a busy night. I cut the sauce ingredients (mayo, italian dressing) in half and thought that was plenty. Also just mixed in half the amount of mustard with the sauce and spread it on all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSY MARAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is definitely one of our favorite sandwiches. I've made it so many times, I don't even need the recipe any longer! The flavors blend beautifully, and the outside of the roll gets super crunchy with the fruity olive oil taste. Even though I'm always anxious to take that first bite, I force myself to grill it slowly to make sure it's warmed through completely. It's a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Yummy, hot pressed po'boys at home. These are great. I did have to turn the stove down to about medium to keep them from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
These were great. However we had way too much sauce so you really only need to make half as much as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I did these open faced under the broiler without frying on both sides. These are a favorite and though they're not like the ones you can get in Miami they are still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
These are great, i did lighten up a bit by using reduced fat mayo, lace swiss, fat free italian and about 1/4 the oil it called for. used my Foreman grill. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States