Cuban Midnight Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellent! We'll make this one over and over again at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I’ll give this a 1 star because it lacks total authenticity. I mean, if you order a fillet mignon in a restaurant, would you be happy with any piece of cooked meat? Absolutely not! While this is a tasty sandwich, it is NOT the true Cuban midnight sandwich. Try buying Cuban Bread (most Wal-Mart’s have it on the bakery section) No Italian dressing (use mayo and mustard) No turkey meat (instead use roasted pork), ham, Swiss and pickle slices are OK. Sprinkle with a little bit of salt, pepper and grill until cheese is melted. I always make these on a flat griddle-press so that I don't get grill marks on the bread. Also some people like spreading a bit of butter on one side of the bread and mayo-mustard on the other. Source: Myself. (Cuban/Cook)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
What a great sandwich! I cut the sauce in half (1/2 cup mayo-2 1/2 Tbsp Italian dressing-and just mixed in the 2 Tbsp mustard instead of spreading it alone)Cooked them on my George Foreman grill and they were so good! We will be having these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
We loved these sandwiches. My family was very skeptical when I started but I couldn't make them fast enough in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was tasty and husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
These were really good! The blend was nice and the taste was great. If your a sandwich eater then this is a great sandwich. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I probably won't make it a lot, but will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was not bad at all. My hubby liked them more than I did, but I think it was just a matter of taste. We did end up with WAY too much of the mayo mixture. Would probably cut that in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Very good!!! 5 out of the 6 of us really loved this! My only problem was that I probably added too much of the mayo! My sandwich kept sliding apart!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I thought this was a great sandwich. It was quick, easy, and tasty. I used hamburger buns instead of hoagie rolls because that's just what I happened to have, and I also used Provolone cheese instead of Swiss because Swiss is a little strong for our liking. I think a tomato slice would be great on this sandwich and we'll be doing that the next time we have these, which will probably later on this week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This gets 4 stars because I personally didn't care for these much, but the others who ate them loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States