Cuban Midnight Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by STACII24
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Amazing! I added tomatoes and they were perfect. I recommend squishing the bread down before putting anything into it in order to flatten the top a bit, followed by cooking the bottom first. They were a bit messy to eat but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Good easy recipe, great for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
OK, so maybe this isn't "authentic," but it's a pretty decent sandwich nonetheless. My hubs and I had a heavy lunch (Giordano's Chicago-style deep dish pizza... yummm!!!) and it's been hotter than heck here in the Midwest. We were both a little hungry around dinnertime, but not for super filling fare or anything that required heating up the stove. This fit the bill perfectly. To ease prep, I used my panini press, but that didn't work out too well for me. :( My press flattened each sandwich so much so that the fillings oozed out the sides! Other than this slight mishap, I had no issues with the recipe itself. NOTE: You can reduce the amount of mayo mixture by half and still have more than enough to slather on your sandwiches. I halved this recipe (and the mayo mixture), but still ended up wasting over half of it. I also think the mustard can be reduced by half (i.e. half a T per sandwich). Another observation? Use a wire whisk to mix your mayo / Italian dressing. Mixing with a spoon will do, but your mayo will appear curdled because the oil wasn't properly incorporated (yuck!). Served with black bean soup, sweet potato chips and cuban mojitos, this was a fun Saturday night meal. Thanks for sharing, Maruchy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I thought these were very good. Good left-over also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clyde, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Seriously delicious! Tastes like something you would get at a local deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia2242

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
delish......haven't eatin one out since finding this jewel...yum yum.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Good, but I do agree a cuban sandwich has pork thinly sliced and not the turkey. I used ceasar dressing on it instead of the italian dressing mix. This was tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made this for my husbands lunch w/o telling him what I was making. After taking his first bite his words were 'WOW this is delicious!" I love when I can make something that is super easy & still get fabulous comments on how good it is!! Thank you for a great recipe. I will certainly be making this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is definitely one of our favorite sandwiches. I've made it so many times, I don't even need the recipe any longer! The flavors blend beautifully, and the outside of the roll gets super crunchy with the fruity olive oil taste. Even though I'm always anxious to take that first bite, I force myself to grill it slowly to make sure it's warmed through completely. It's a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very tasty! Even better with some sprouts thrown in there after it has been grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States