Cuban Midnight Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
These were nice and easy to make. I loved the idea of using oil instead of butter - they grilled up perfectly. The only ingredient/flavor that really stood out in this sandwich were the pickles, otherwise, it was kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is great for someone who is desperate for a little bit of Cuban taste (in the ham, pickle, mustard mostly), and otherwise just a tasty sandwich in general. I make it on the stovetop and prefer it to putting it in the oven. (I can use that very flimsy, but healthy low-cal bread and it grills up nicely). I didn't even realize it had the directions about using the plate before now, so that doesn't seem necessary IMO. As far as the mayo/dressing spread, I know it's not authentically anything (except American), but I like it just for something different... It's just me and my fiance, so I just mix up about 1/2 quantities into a small plastic container, and keep it in the fridge for a little while until we use it up... so the fact that it makes a lot, is actually convenient for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Really good and fast to make on nights when you need dinner quick. We used reduced fat olive oil mayo and light italian dressing and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was really good! I think using a panini press would have made it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Great recipe...however way to much mayonnaise...I stated filling the measuring cup up as I was reading directions. When I realized it was just to make the spread I stopped filling it up. I only used a little over a half cup and I still had plenty to toss. Because I used less mayo I also cut back to 3 tablespoons dressing. I used mayo with olive oil & fat free 15 calorie wishbone Italian dressing...made a great combo. For the mustard just a plain yellow mustard was wonderful... I also used my George Forman to grill them...a hint if you use your George Forman for any sandwich prop the front up (I use 2 small cans to do this) that way it grills it without being at an angle so it doesnt squish the sandwich that much...would also be great with mozzarella cheese. The only reason I rated it a 4 was because of the extra mayo, even though I tossed some I still felt I put to much on each sandwich trying to use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armygirl207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Eustis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I made this recipe for a school project and everybody loved it. When I made this at home I got the same results>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sun Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I prefer pork loin slices to turkey, so that's what I used. I baked my own rolls and used the extra mayo / Italian dressing for a dipping sauce, because our local deli does that for their grinders and we have become addicted to it. If you try that, slice the rolls into very skinny wedges to make it easier to dip. Want authentic? Use pork instead of turkey, skip the Italian dressing, and use Cuban rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Good Sandwich, but it's not a cuban
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Great Sandwich but not a a Cuban Midnight sandwich. Have one every time I go to Miami. Two totally different taste but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAJIX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA
Photo by STACII24
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Amazing! I added tomatoes and they were perfect. I recommend squishing the bread down before putting anything into it in order to flatten the top a bit, followed by cooking the bottom first. They were a bit messy to eat but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States