Cuban Midnight Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This was delicious! I thought it was restaurant quality. I never had this sandwich before and have no concern about it's authenticity. However, I didn't at all understand the ingredient amounts. So, I just did them all to taste. The only thing I didn't have was the turkey, so I left that out. I used 4 large slices of bread from a Tuscan round loaf. I couldn't understand if the Italian dressing was the liquid kind or the dry packets. I used a Kraft Tuscan Italian bottled dressing. I mixed some up to taste in some lite mayo. I did about 1-2 Tblsp on 2 slices and put a small amount of dijon mustard on the other pieces of bread. I put 2 slices of square ham and 1.5 slices of baby swiss with about 5 hamburger dills each on the mayo slices. To cook it in, I just used about 1 Tblsp. of olive oil. It made the sandwich so much crispier than butter. I am not sure why anyone would need 1/2 cup of olive oil or the full cup of mayo. That seems extremely excessive. My sandwich was still plenty moist on the inside and crispy on the outside. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
When shopping for ingredients for this sandwich I saw Boar's Head "Jamaica Jerk Turkey" behind the deli counter. I sampled a piece and knew that this would be a huge difference maker. Well, it was OUTSTANDING... just the right amount of kick to give this the Cuban zing that it deserves. That's the only change I mind to this great recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These are amazing and easy to make! I didn't have hoagie rolls so I just used french rolls but they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Very yummy! I made them pretty much as stated but I used ciabatta bread instead of hoagies and heated the sandwiches in the oven instead of on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a good sandwich! We changed it up a little...I rubbed olive oil along the top half of the panini and sprinkled whole rosemary leaves for additional flavor. My husband also added horseradish to his mayo. We only used turkey ham, not turkey and ham, lol. Will be making again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
my 10 yr old granddaughter made these for dinner tonight.so simple for her and they were absolutely delicious.made exactly as written which is rare for us.definitely have to add the pickle.will be making these often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
These were nice and easy to make. I loved the idea of using oil instead of butter - they grilled up perfectly. The only ingredient/flavor that really stood out in this sandwich were the pickles, otherwise, it was kinda bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is great for someone who is desperate for a little bit of Cuban taste (in the ham, pickle, mustard mostly), and otherwise just a tasty sandwich in general. I make it on the stovetop and prefer it to putting it in the oven. (I can use that very flimsy, but healthy low-cal bread and it grills up nicely). I didn't even realize it had the directions about using the plate before now, so that doesn't seem necessary IMO. As far as the mayo/dressing spread, I know it's not authentically anything (except American), but I like it just for something different... It's just me and my fiance, so I just mix up about 1/2 quantities into a small plastic container, and keep it in the fridge for a little while until we use it up... so the fact that it makes a lot, is actually convenient for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Really good and fast to make on nights when you need dinner quick. We used reduced fat olive oil mayo and light italian dressing and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was really good! I think using a panini press would have made it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States