Cuban Midnight Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I just made this for a late lunch for myself after scaling it back to one serving. As others have stated, as written, makes way to much sauce and the Italian dressing gives it a weird flavor that I certainly would not consider Cuban. It was just okay. I would suggest looking for a different recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brogue, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Very good - the whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is fantastic, we do ours on the Foreman Grill. Works just like a grilled cheese, but tastes like Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I can't believe I am giving a sandwich 5 stars, but I am. This is a great way to use up holiday turkey and ham. The mayo/Italian dressing is surprisingly delicious. I used up some Hawaiian rolls, which were very, very good and also made one on a hoagie. Again, a great way to use up leftovers. My only issue was I used cast iron and the bread was done before the inside was hot. In the future, I will have the meat at room temp or warmed. Again, delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
YUM! I have a daughter who is vegetarian so I made this with mushrooms and no meat. I used leftover baked ham for the rest of us meat eaters and to both versions I added mild pepper rings. You do have a lot of leftover dressing but that's ok.....use it on another sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRICIA20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Yum! That was so good. Instead of using a hoagie, I actually bought Italian bread from the deli but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. The sauce was a true standout and the combination of meat and Swiss with pickles truly made this a "gourmet deli" made from the comfort of my own kitchen. This was the best sandwich I've had in a long time and I am including those from known restaurants as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Sorry to say that this is not a real media noche sandwich. Cuban and media noche sandwiches are prepared the same, with ham, cheese, roasted pork, which is missing, and is the most important ingredient, (you can add turkey if you want), pickle, mustard and mayo. Some people add chorizo (sausage). My mother used to add turkey after being years in the states, but never while we were in Cuba. The difference between the regular cuban and media noche is the special bread which looks like a hogie, but is sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Used a loaf of French bread and cut into 5 pieces. Cut mayo to 1/3 cup, italian dressing 3 T and added banana pepper rings. Used foreman grill. Everyone in my family loved this sandwich, and it was quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
The best sandwich I've had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
As an amateur cooker, this looked both easy and delicious. I made it today and it was a hit with the family! It's very hard to find something everyone in this house likes. What made it even better is that my super-picky grandmother kept raving about it! It's definitely a meal I will be making again, especially on rushed nights. Cutting the amount of mayo, mustard and Italian dressing down is also advisable-- I ended up wasting most of what it asked for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Blessing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States