Cuban Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
This was really good! It was such a unique mix of indredients that I had to try it, and I'm so glad I did. My guy and I both loved it served over egg noodles. It was so easy to make, I didn't change a thing. I'm sure I'll make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
My wife simply loved it! I think the combination of flavors is perfect! I only added some chilli peppers (2) to make it a little spicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Delicious!! As some people mentioned the lack of flavour, I added chipotle. I also added diced zucchini as I had it on hand. It turned out great. It went very well with rice. I served it with bean salsa&chips and ice mint tea. It was a perfect hot summer lunch. I may try with pineapple the nxt time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akiko Ono

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I'm always looking for new ways to cook pork and this was easy and delicious. Nothing needed to be changed - I made minor ones - used Goya seasoning to season the meat before cooking and again at the end in place of the salt and pepper. I also had some leftover canned corn which I added. I cut the meat into bite sized pieces, therefore, 20 min. of cooking time was plenty - it would have been dried out if I had done 30 min. I served it over rice but the next time I'n going to serve it by itself (it is filling) and put out some crusty bread with butter. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. I must be honest, I only made it because to me it sounded too weird not to try. :) It was very easy to make. The blend of ingredients gave this a sweet yet spicy wonderful taste. We will be making this one again and again!! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Do not let the ingredients put you off on making this extraordinary dish. This was fantastic, the sauce was delicious, the bananas gave it a nice touch. I did add a 28oz can of tomatoes as one reviewer said it could have been saucier and I am glad I did. We served it over egg noodles and it was a perfect meal. Thanks for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was excellent. The bananas work very well with diced tomatoes. I used the tomatoes w/chilis for added spice. It is a keeper and would work with chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I was so curious I had to make it! I served it with rice, and added an extra can of tomatoes as suggested by another reviewer. The flavor was great -- I love when the recipe says "season to taste"! This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I was alittle scared when I saw bananas and tomatoes in the same dish, but what a GREAT combination of ingredients. On my first attempt I used plantains as others suggested,as well as rotel tomatoes, cumin and chili powder. I served it over Brazilian Rice (from this website).The dish was delicious, but found the plaintains to be bland. I used bananas the second time I made it and the flavor was very nice. I also cooked the pork first, removed it before cooking the rest of the ingredients and put it back in to cook a little more before serving. I found the pork to be too dry when you leave it in the whole time (first attempt). All in all great recipe! Next time I make it I might try pineapple in place of banana....a little sweet with a little heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I loved this!My favorite flavor is banana, my favortie veggies are tomatoes, and I love to cook with onion, so I had to try this and I loved it...I used cajun seasoning instead of cayenne, also I dredged the pork in flour and cumin before browning....SOoooo tasty could not get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States