Cuban Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is a very good recipe. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Delicious!! As some people mentioned the lack of flavour, I added chipotle. I also added diced zucchini as I had it on hand. It turned out great. It went very well with rice. I served it with bean salsa&chips and ice mint tea. It was a perfect hot summer lunch. I may try with pineapple the nxt time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was excellent. The bananas work very well with diced tomatoes. I used the tomatoes w/chilis for added spice. It is a keeper and would work with chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Born & bred in Miami, I was skeptical about this dish, even as I served it up. HOWEVER, with just slight tweaking, my family and I thoroughly enjoyed it! Tweaks: added cumin (a must for authentic cuban flavor), used 3 (10oz) cans of Rotel diced tomatoes. Also, my bananas were slightly green. Yum-a-licious, seriously! The tweaks kept me from giving this a 5* review...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Not one of my favorites. I followed the recipe exactly but felt the finished dish lacked flavor. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This recipe could be spiced up 'criollo'-style with hot chili peppers to taste if desired or leave it mild and smooth without the hotness. I used plantains because I like them better with meat. I also liked the goulash better served with rice. Thanks for the recipe - as all the reviewers indicate it can tweeked or left alone and you still have a good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I have made this many times, except that I use plantains instead of bananas. Also, I add cumin, oregano and bay leaf (in Venezuela we get it in piowder form).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Okay dish. Wasn't as flavorful as I was hoping. Adding the bananas gave it an interesting taste but it was still pretty bland. I added about half a can of water and then reduced it with heat to make his saucier and served over rice. It was okay but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
My wife simply loved it! I think the combination of flavors is perfect! I only added some chilli peppers (2) to make it a little spicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Curiosity got the best of me and I had to try this recipe. I cooked it with the lid on and had no problems with lack of sauce. There was something about the taste that just didn't grab me, although it wasn't bad, either. I served it over egg noodles, but think I might have liked it better over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States