Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Way to doctor up black beans! I was too lazy to start from scratch with dried beans, so I scaled the recipe down to two servings, the equivalent of one can of beans. I kind of winged it on the measurements, added very little water, and simmered it only briefly, maybe 5-10 minutes. Lots of flavor, and went great with yellow rice and Cuban Shredded Pork, recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Used 3 cans pre-prepared beans in place of dried beans and eliminated the water. Used half a 6oz can tomoato paste and it turned out really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Served it for a crowd for a Cuban themed dinner. My only issue was that due to the tomato base, most people thought it was chili--I don't know why that bothered me, but it did. It was pretty tomato-y, so I might use less tomato paste next time. I was informed that "real" Cubans would never add tomato paste to their beans. Added jalapeno and some hot sauce, too, because that's just how I roll. I'm sure "real" Cubans would take issue with that, too. I used 2 cans of rinsed and drained black beans and skipped step 1 altogether. About 2 cups of chicken broth for the water. The people I served it for are wimps when it comes to spice, and no one thought it was too spicy, even with the jalapenos and hot sauce. None left over, and everyone said they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSE24HR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Really really great! I have never tried Cuban food before, I think this might be the start of a fantastic food adventure, very exciting! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glastonbury, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I did a pressure cooker quick soak on dry beans, drained and rinsed and then proceeded and this turned out perfect. The tomatoes, vinegar, etc. had no effect on the cooking time for me. These beans were tender and flavorful. Only change I made was to add a whole chopped jalapeno and instead of tomato paste, I used a small can of tomato sauce and a can of diced tomatoes (undrained). Served over rice. Very good and will make this meatless meal again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamarati

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The flavor is good made exactly as written. It did take the beans longer than stated to be tender. I was afraid that maybe there would be too much salt and pepper, but that was not the case. If one used canned beans, it would be way too salty. A really good meatless dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
So yummy! I halved the recipe (only had 1/2 pound of black beans!), it turned out wonderful!! Didnt have pimentos on hand. Served over white rice and added some baked chicken breast. VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a new family favorite!! I did tweak the recipe to fit what I had on hand and my family's finicky tastes but it still turned out delicious! I spent all of $5 on this meal and was able to use my kitchen staples for the rest - what a bargain for a delicious dish! I omitted the pimentos, tomato paste and vinegar and added 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp tsp cayenne and a handful of chopped cilantro (I had some on hand - but next time I'll be sure to pick some up just for this dish). About 30 minutes from the end, I added 1 tsp cocoa powder to take the bite off the spice. This was so filling and yummy, and we have left overs for burritos tomorrow. Oh - and just for the record - I used dried beans, soaked over night - it was worth it to save my family from the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I messed up and only got about 6 hours of soak time - these still turned out delicious. Since the vinegar type wasn't specified, I used cider. The girlfriend wants me to make these weekly now, and I am willing to oblige.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States