Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I thought this was the best dish i ever had. Though there really was no need for the tomato paste, sugar, or that much pepper. I would give this a good 5 stars. a good reminder for making this dish it tastes better with canned black beans [:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Great basic recipe. Fry one chopped onion, one chopped pepper, four stalks chopped celery, and 12 cloves garlic (don't be afraid). Add to 2# rinsed dried beans, a couple bay leaves, and water to cover in the crockpot. No soaking necessary. Add vinegar at the end. No tomato paste or sugar. Delish. Once I also threw in a ham steak and a couple leftover grilled chopped chicken breasts for my hungry teens. This is a low cost, low effort meal everyone will love. This is one of a few slow cooker bean dishes in regular Sunday rotation in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made this without the tomato paste and it was PERFECT. I will definitely be making it again - and often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Way to doctor up black beans! I was too lazy to start from scratch with dried beans, so I scaled the recipe down to two servings, the equivalent of one can of beans. I kind of winged it on the measurements, added very little water, and simmered it only briefly, maybe 5-10 minutes. Lots of flavor, and went great with yellow rice and Cuban Shredded Pork, recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Used 3 cans pre-prepared beans in place of dried beans and eliminated the water. Used half a 6oz can tomoato paste and it turned out really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Served it for a crowd for a Cuban themed dinner. My only issue was that due to the tomato base, most people thought it was chili--I don't know why that bothered me, but it did. It was pretty tomato-y, so I might use less tomato paste next time. I was informed that "real" Cubans would never add tomato paste to their beans. Added jalapeno and some hot sauce, too, because that's just how I roll. I'm sure "real" Cubans would take issue with that, too. I used 2 cans of rinsed and drained black beans and skipped step 1 altogether. About 2 cups of chicken broth for the water. The people I served it for are wimps when it comes to spice, and no one thought it was too spicy, even with the jalapenos and hot sauce. None left over, and everyone said they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSE24HR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Really really great! I have never tried Cuban food before, I think this might be the start of a fantastic food adventure, very exciting! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glastonbury, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I did a pressure cooker quick soak on dry beans, drained and rinsed and then proceeded and this turned out perfect. The tomatoes, vinegar, etc. had no effect on the cooking time for me. These beans were tender and flavorful. Only change I made was to add a whole chopped jalapeno and instead of tomato paste, I used a small can of tomato sauce and a can of diced tomatoes (undrained). Served over rice. Very good and will make this meatless meal again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamarati

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The flavor is good made exactly as written. It did take the beans longer than stated to be tender. I was afraid that maybe there would be too much salt and pepper, but that was not the case. If one used canned beans, it would be way too salty. A really good meatless dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States