Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Very good. I used half the recipe and cooked for 1 1/2 hours. It was still hard so next time I'll cook for longer. Only modification I made was to use tomato sauce and not tomato paste because I had an open can of sauce already. Served with "Cuban Ropa Vieja."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Oh lordy this was good! I used canned beans, undrained and served over rice. My fiance loved it! It's going in my file! I added a bit more garlic, cayenne, and onion just to suit our taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I didn't find this recipe until my beans were almost cooked. Due to scarce ingredients, I didn't add pimentos and used two chopped small brown onions and 1/2 red bell pepper instead of a green pepper. Delicious on corn tortillas with chopped lettuce and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Worked well with canned beans and 3 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy R Keith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
If you use canned beans, don't add that much water. 1 cup at the most or non at all - depending on how long you cook the dish. you need 5 cups of water if you cook fresh beans as they need to get soft. It also could use some more spices, but other than that this is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
easy and good! Used slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
With all the back and forth over the addition of water to the recipe I honestly wasn't very comfortable with it. Most reviews seemed to indicate the water should be left out and that it was possibly only meant for soaking the beans and left in the recipe by mistake. Others said there was no need for the water, but I should add some broth. I dropped the water but did use a can of chicken broth, however the whole time I was wondering if I was making a mistake in not cooking the beans first. I don't see how canned beans could be substituted for raw(soaked) beans when canned beans are cleary fully cooked. In the end, the beans came out ok, but even after cooking longer than instructed the beans were tougher than they should be. I told myself, and the other eaters(heh) that it was just the way black beans were eaten. Anyway, the beans were rather easy to make and they were really good over rice. If I make these again I might try some canned beans to see the difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
very salty, but that's the way my boyfriend likes them. he LOVED these beans. and i thought they were great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I believe that lady that made these beans every wednesday was Mexican but nt Cuban . We do not make our Black beans with sugar, pimentos or tomatoe sauce. Nor, do we serve them with sour cream and cheese heeped on top...That sounds very Tex Mex...soryy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Decent recipe, but NOT Cuban style. Cuban black beans are very simply seasoned and served over hot white rice--maybe with some chopped onions/cilantro/parsley but never with salsa, cheese and sour cream! This sounds more like a Mexican style way of serving beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States