Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Not very tasty but doesn't taste bad either. Very mild. I can't imagine what it would taste like without the garlic. DON"T skip the garlic. My family enjoyed these beans - I put it in a bun to serve and told them it was Cuban Sloppy Joe's. I will add a few dashes of red pepper seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Really good version. My picky son liked them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Wow! My husband can't stop talking about how good these beans are. He's right! They're really great. I made a batch of them today to bring to a pot-luck at a friend's house (and served them along with a pot of plain white rice). They were a big hit at the dinner. I was a little apprehensive about adding tomato paste, but think about it - one little 6 oz. can of tomato paste in a pound of black beans isn't really that much. I hardly noticed it. I didn't have a green bell pepper, but I did have some small red, orange, and yellow peppers so I threw them in instead. I was also frying bacon for some potato salad and didn't know what to do with the leftover grease... so I added it to the beans - WHOA! That really works. I didn't measure how much bacon grease I added, but I'd guess around 1/4 cup. Oh yeah, one more change. I didn't have time to soak the beans overnight before cooking so I ended up adding an extra six cups water and cooked the beans about 4 hours. Whenever the beans looked like they had absorbed almost all the water, I added two more cups. I ended up doing this three times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Beans were very tasty, however, took much longer to cook than recipe called for. Next time I will put them in the slow cooker for the day. We did add some creole seasoning to spice it up a bit as was a bit bland for ouf family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this with canned beans and because of this it was more saucy than it probably should have been. Next time I will follow the other tips of using less water. I also omitted the bell pepper and pimentos (only because I didn't have any) Regardless I thought this was delicious and would definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mygrandmasaysimkool
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Mywhole family loved this! I made it exactly as written, except I added a jalapeno, and a little more salt. It was delicious! I like beans really well done though so i did cook it longer, close to 4 hours. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERS98

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I attemptd fresh cooked beans on several occasions and it always ended the same...in the GARBAGE! I was really hesitant to give it another shot but I figured why not. It was a bit time consuming but worth it. I cooked them for over 4 hours on a low fire. If you follow the cook time your beans will be somewhat hard. I like my beans really tender. It was a really good recipe. I did not give it 5 stars because I did feel the need to tweek it a bit after tasting it. I decided to add an additional 1/2 tspn of Salt as I found it just a bit bland...I am not big on salt so 1/2 tspn did the trick. Also, I found the flavor to be quite good but it was missing something...so I figured I'de add Cilantro, because that's the way my family cooks beans...and low and behold...IT WAS PERFECT!!!! Everyone at dinner was amazed by the taste and my son ate 3 servings. This is my worst critic people. Remember the beans that ended up in the Garbage earlier? He hated them that much and for him to eat 3 servings is unheard of. My entire family competes for his approval in the beans department and Mommie went from the bottom of the list to the top with this recipe!!!! You have got to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These beans were tasty, but definately not "Cuban". No bonafide Cuban would ever put tomato sauce/paste in their beans. I added a large bay leaf, some cumin, used red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar and added about a tablespoon of sugar and of course, NO TOMATO paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
EXCELENT. might use goya sofrito for tomato flavor. also, lime juice at end makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was one of the first recipes that I tried on this site quite a few years ago and I've made it many times since. It has great flavor, which is surprising since there are not many spices. I never add the pimentos, but otherwise always make the recipe just like it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States