Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Yummy Yummy Yummy. I served these with a green salad and fried plantains, and everyone raved. I even served them to some friends who describe themselves as carnivores and they had no problem with a vegetarian meal once they tasted these beans. Both of them wanted the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
totally worth five stars, and i don't usually like black beans! But my boyfriend wanted to try some because we have been doing weight training and black beans have so much fiber without the load of carbs in bread. we both don't like peppers or pimentos, so i just left them out, and i used canned beans instead of dry. The trick to canned beans is to pick the low-sodium variety with the most spices already in it. (More flavorful beans, the usual is salt sugar and dehydrated onion, but if you can find canned beans with more than that they're even better!) I used two cans, drained, and DIDN'T ADD THE 5 CUPS OF WATER!!!! this is very important, as a few reviers have mentioned their beans came out watery. The water is to soak the dry beans in, and then to be drained off. If you need some extra liquid while cooking the beans, add a little chicken broth. (Or vegetable if you're vegetarian) :) It turned out -so- good, i'll be making them often! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Very good. Just what I was looking for as a side dish with a Cuban flair. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
First off: this recipe does NOT work as written with canned beans. I used three 15-oz. cans of beans and only 4 c. of water, and it was still way too watery. I had to simmer it forever to even get it close to not looking like soup. Now, perhaps this isn't the case when you use regular beans, and/or perhaps this is how soupy it's supposed to be. Regardless, next time I'll use at the most 2 c. of water, if not less. Also, this could use a few more spices; I increased the black pepper and added cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Great but needed adjusting when using canned black beans. Use 2 cans of beans, use only 1/4 can of tomato paste or else it's too tomatoey, add a little water, add hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Flavorful and easy. I served it over brown rice with shredded Monterrey Jack cheese. Next time I'll reduce the water by 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
these black beans are great.. very tasty and easy to make. you will definately impress company with these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
These were the tastiest black beans I have ever tried! I highly recommend them. I topped them with shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This is totally awesome!! I warmed some up at the office one day. The aroma made EVERYONE request a copy of the recipe!! We've had it over rice, with fresh bread, over pasta...even my 5-year old loved it! Scrump-dilly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAJAZZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Scrumptious, and very filling. Really nothing else is needed to make a meal except bread. We like cornbread with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States