Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Very good. Just what I was looking for as a side dish with a Cuban flair. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
First off: this recipe does NOT work as written with canned beans. I used three 15-oz. cans of beans and only 4 c. of water, and it was still way too watery. I had to simmer it forever to even get it close to not looking like soup. Now, perhaps this isn't the case when you use regular beans, and/or perhaps this is how soupy it's supposed to be. Regardless, next time I'll use at the most 2 c. of water, if not less. Also, this could use a few more spices; I increased the black pepper and added cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Great but needed adjusting when using canned black beans. Use 2 cans of beans, use only 1/4 can of tomato paste or else it's too tomatoey, add a little water, add hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Flavorful and easy. I served it over brown rice with shredded Monterrey Jack cheese. Next time I'll reduce the water by 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
these black beans are great.. very tasty and easy to make. you will definately impress company with these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
These were the tastiest black beans I have ever tried! I highly recommend them. I topped them with shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This is totally awesome!! I warmed some up at the office one day. The aroma made EVERYONE request a copy of the recipe!! We've had it over rice, with fresh bread, over pasta...even my 5-year old loved it! Scrump-dilly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAJAZZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Scrumptious, and very filling. Really nothing else is needed to make a meal except bread. We like cornbread with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Great black beans! Very easy to make, and smells up the house nicely. I would use a little less pepper next time - was a tad too spicy for me. Make ahead - these were SO much better the next day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Good basic recipe, definitely not spicy enough for my family. If I make again, would have to add some chili powder, hot peppers, hot sauce, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States