Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I have never made beans from scratch before, but these came out so delicious! Two professional cooks could not believe I made those beans!!! (I am a very amateur cook.) But these were easy and Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
We love this recipe. The smell is intoxicating while its cooking. My husband and I have made ourselves sick because we couldn't stop eating it one night. As far as modifications, I have never actually added the pimentos, we never have them. Sometimes I'll sub with roasted red pepper, but I usually don't worry about it. I also cook this in a pressure cooker for about 25 minutes. We never have added the toppings, and we like it on brown rice. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
What can I say, but WOW! I used this recipe Friday night when hubby dropped a BBQ on me last minute. The commissary was closed and all I had was canned black beans. Everyone ate these up!! I plan to make these again very soon, but I want to try it with the dried beans just to see if it can get any better, though I doubt that's possible, since this was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Yum! I followed the recipe without changing a thing (used the dry beans). Absolutely wonderful over a bed of steamed, long-grain white rice! I had no problem with the amount of water as the beans soaked it right in -- you have to let this dish cook for the amount of time that the recipes calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Good, but i had to add more salt. I also added cumin and oregano for some more flavor. Not exactly authentic, but close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
These garnered mixed reviews in our house. My partner liked them, but I found them pretty flavorless. If you doctor them up with some more spices, they'd be OK, but then again, if you do that, why bother with a recipe in the first place? I rather wish I hadn't -- could have made better beans using my own improvisational cooking skills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Just like I had down in cuban restaurants down in Miami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Great recipe! I didn't have any black beans so I used a mixture of kidney and pinto beans. Instead of cooking it on a stove, I assembled all the ingredients (minus the tomatoes and vinegar) in a crockpot and left it on while I was at work. I mixed in the rest of the ingredients after the beans were cooked. I froze the leftovers and re-heated them later and they were still delicious. I think this will be even better next time when I actually use black beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Wow, very good! I had a bag of red kidney beans, so I used them instead of black beans. Other than that I did not change anything, and it was so good over rice. Just right amount of seasoning. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
When I made this, I used 3 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed. I also put in a HUGE tablespoonful of Biryani curry paste. I decreased the water by 1 cup, and served this dish over Basmati rice, with a pork tenderloin. The combination of the beans, rice and pork was a great compliment to one another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States