Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe is a keeper! For my family's taste, I add a little more garlic, cumin and oregano. I do not care for cooked raisins and was pleasantly surprised that they mostly disintegrate into the stew. The depth of the broth is amazing. Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cathy
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
So simple and delish! I will definitely share this recipe with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I did everything like the recipe stated. Next time I will omit the raisins though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Almost didn't try this stew because some of ingredients just sounded weird. But the flavors that come out in the broth were delicious and the meat was totally yum. Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Bruner-Ruhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Such a great flavor!! It went perfect with brown rice and steamed carrots with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylefile
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I do not like raisins so I didn't add any. I know it adds a bit of sweetness to the stew so I added about a cup of apple juice instead. Having no dry sherry, I used orange muscat. The stew still turned out wonderful and flavorful. As a time shortcut, I also added the potatoes before simmering the stew for an hour. That way, the potatoes were already soft when the meat became tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylefile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This tasted just like the stew my roommate's Cuban grandmother makes. I really liked the raisins' slight sweetness and the richness of the sauce. I think this would make a great slow cooker meal, since my beef was still a little tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystaB.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Wow this was a huge hit from 3 to 42 years old. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I suggest making Mojo as a condiment. One onion, 5 cloves of garlic, juice and zest from one lemon, 1 teaspoon cumin all put in the food processor until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Pretty good but did not have the depth of flavor as some of the Cuban stews we’ve had before. Made this as written except we substituted beef broth for water. After tasting it, we added Tiger Sauce to bring more flavor. There is no reason that raisins need to be cooked for 1 ½ hours in step 2 unless you like mushy ones . . . 15 or so minutes of cooking time is adequate. Some other reviewers skipped the potatoes, and I would do the same next time or possibly substitute 1 cup malanga, cubed. Increase the cumin to 2 tablespoons (from 1/2 teaspoon) and add 2-3 tablespoons of Spanish paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Really great recipe with a wonderful taste. I'm quite perplexed by some reviewers who say that this recipe lacks flavor. I can only imagine that those people altered this recipe in some way...left things out. Its important to note that red pepper, sherry, capers and cumin, along with everything else really, are very important to this recipe. To be successful, you'll want to follow this recipe very closely. You might want to quarter a lemon/lime and serve it on the side as a condiment. I'd suggest that you have some of your favourite hot sauce on the table when serving this dish to guests, as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States