Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Such a great flavor!! It went perfect with brown rice and steamed carrots with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylefile
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I do not like raisins so I didn't add any. I know it adds a bit of sweetness to the stew so I added about a cup of apple juice instead. Having no dry sherry, I used orange muscat. The stew still turned out wonderful and flavorful. As a time shortcut, I also added the potatoes before simmering the stew for an hour. That way, the potatoes were already soft when the meat became tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylefile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This tasted just like the stew my roommate's Cuban grandmother makes. I really liked the raisins' slight sweetness and the richness of the sauce. I think this would make a great slow cooker meal, since my beef was still a little tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrystaB.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Wow this was a huge hit from 3 to 42 years old. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I suggest making Mojo as a condiment. One onion, 5 cloves of garlic, juice and zest from one lemon, 1 teaspoon cumin all put in the food processor until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Pretty good but did not have the depth of flavor as some of the Cuban stews we’ve had before. Made this as written except we substituted beef broth for water. After tasting it, we added Tiger Sauce to bring more flavor. There is no reason that raisins need to be cooked for 1 ½ hours in step 2 unless you like mushy ones . . . 15 or so minutes of cooking time is adequate. Some other reviewers skipped the potatoes, and I would do the same next time or possibly substitute 1 cup malanga, cubed. Increase the cumin to 2 tablespoons (from 1/2 teaspoon) and add 2-3 tablespoons of Spanish paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Really great recipe with a wonderful taste. I'm quite perplexed by some reviewers who say that this recipe lacks flavor. I can only imagine that those people altered this recipe in some way...left things out. Its important to note that red pepper, sherry, capers and cumin, along with everything else really, are very important to this recipe. To be successful, you'll want to follow this recipe very closely. You might want to quarter a lemon/lime and serve it on the side as a condiment. I'd suggest that you have some of your favourite hot sauce on the table when serving this dish to guests, as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
It was a little different, but not significantly different from run of the mill beef stew. I dont know what I was expecting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I was a little skeptical on how this would turn out but wound up loving it. It was very flavorful. I didn't have sherry and used leftover prepared tomato sauce instead of canned but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is a very good stew!! my husband loved it... the only thing different i did was added some Adobo(mexican seasoning) and a can if corn and green beans...also, didn't have capers so i didn't add it :) and it was GOOD!!! especially cold the next day!! it was amazing!! I will likely add pinto beans next time to give it a twist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Wow, I don't know if it was just me and I did something wrong but this was just ok to me. It seemed a little bland. I took a few reviewers suggestion and didn't add the potatoes and even that didn't help. OH well. :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDReese23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States