Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Very tasty. But to spice it up a little, instead of green pepper I used 1/2 of a jalapeño pepper seeds and all simply because I forgot to add it. I eyeballed the cumin while cooking. I used shredded roasted chicken in the bowl and sprinkled fresh chopped cilantro on top. This gave a refreshing taste. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBootheel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I didn't find it appetizing. it was extremely bland and distasteful. I apologize for the negative review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Wonderful recipr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Great in tortilla shells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Yauger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I used dry pinto beans instead - 1 and 1/2 cup cooked. Worked fine. I followed the recommendation to add seasoning: 1 tsp cumin, i/2 tsp cayanne pepper, 1/8 tsp garlic powder, 1/8 tsp season salt. Garnished with cheddar cheese - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Hurlbut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I think it needs a little more spice so next time I will do what some other reviewers said and add some cumin and maybe a little cayenne pepper to it. My whole family ate it though so I am sure this will be made again! This was a nice recipe to have to change it up from the things that I usually make, and that always keeps dinner time interesting. Thank you for the recipe, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by TyriaQuintanar
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Today is 1-1/2014 and I cooked this meal. Very good. I used black beans instead of kidney and I used cumin and chicken broth. My family and I are very pleased I will make this all the time.. This taste very close to our cuban restaurant we used to go to in l.a called Versailles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I really liked this dish...but I used red peppers and black beans because that is what I had on hand! I did end up adding some cumin while cooking the onions just because I love it! Only used 2 cups of liquid because of other reviews I read saying it was too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I followed this recipe almost exactly but made some recommended changes and one BIG mistake - which turned out to be a good thing!! 1)I added 1/2 tbsp each chili powder and cumin seeds. Would increase that in the future and add a little cayenne. 2) My mistake - I used 4.5 cups of water instead of 2.5!!! I grabbed the wrong measuring cup and poured the can liquid into it and added water. It was simmering for about 20 min when I realized, and when I checked it a lot of the liquid had already evaporated. In the end it was the perfect consistency, like a thick chili, definitely not watery or soupy. I added a bit more salt, stirred it up, and when I served it up I added hot sauce for a kick. I'll make this again. It's easy and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Very good. I used short grain brown rice and had to add 20 minutes to time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States