Crystal's Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by debzy
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is the recipe I have been searching for - the one with butter and lots of pumpkin - thank you so much Crystal!! One tip - I used a large disher (scoop) and put them on the tray, then I slammed the tray down on the table a couple of times and it flattened them out perfectly. I got that tip from another baker and it's a great one! You want perfect Chocolate Chip Pumpkin cookies, this is the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Storrs, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Nice cookie for a change of pace. I just added a few shakes of cinnamon in place of the pie spice mix. The dough is soft so dont be worried. Yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCHELE99

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fosston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mentor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Nice flavor. The whole family liked them. I did use a combination of whole wheat and white flour and no one noticed. I only made a half batch as I didn't want to waste chocolate chips if we didn't like the cookies. Next time I'll make the full batch or even a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was EXACTLY the recipe I wanted! Cake-like, sweet without being over sweet. Love it. I'm saving this one. (I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp cloves, 1/8 tsp allspice, and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also substituted brown for white sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie JOY!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MunchiesDepudged
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This recipe is great as written! Like another user mentioned. Uses butter and lots of pumpkin. (Almost double the amount most recipes call for) I made some changes to make it healthier and suit my own tastes. I used 2 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup low fat buttermilk, 1/2 cup BROWN sugar, 5 packets of Splenda, 2 tbs flax+1/2 cup water pureed till smooth (substitutes the eggs), 2 cups of pumpkin, 1 TBS vanilla, and 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips. I decided to use melted butter to blend in the brown sugar better. The full cup of butter is really not necessary but definitely needed for the wonderful flavor of butter. The buttermilk that substituted for the other 1/2 cup of butter provided the rich flavor that apple sauce/ yogurt won't provide. I didn't use the walnuts but I'm sure they would be delicious. Perhaps even better with toasted pecans. Drop them by rounded tbs on the cookie sheet and flattened them out slightly because they don't spread much. I baked mine at 375 degrees for 19 minutes. They may look done earlier but they are not! The large amount of pumpkin takes a while to cook through. After baking, the result is a crisp outside and soft inside cake-like cookie. Amazing rich buttery pumpkin flavor cookie. My house smelled just like Thanksgiving time when I was baking. Definitely try it this way. Hopefully my review helped. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MunchiesDepudged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These cookies are fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly but I did add some red food coloring for a more orange cookie. I took them to work and to some friends and there was not a crumb left! They are all asking for a repeat. For the reviewers who complained about them being "cake like", that is how they are supposed to be. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
9 minutes is more than enough i burned fit batch @ 14 minutes So definetly check on them often. I added a cup of oatmeal almost added another cup of Corn Flakes but wasnt sure if they are nut free it would have been a nice add in though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinah85

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunnville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
For some reason, these cookies did not have much taste. The texture was good but I will not be repeating this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
A very yummy recipe! I left out the walnuts because my husband dislikes them. I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice, so I substituted with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, and 1/2 teaspoon of ginger. Tastes just fine to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great recipe--I had to make a few changes. I used squash because I had so many from the garden and coconut instead of walnuts(kids with food allergies) Everyone love them--thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States