Crystal's Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I served this at our backyard party. Everyone LOVED it. I layered the ingredients instead of making rolls. I baked it in the oven. It was wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I took the suggestions of others and sauted the fresh spinach and fresh mushrooms. Baked at 400 degrees covered and then uncovered the last 10 minutes. My husband and I enjoyed this meal very much. I'm not big on chicken, but this was a delightful meal and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was incredible. So far it is the best thing I have made from this site. I made 4 breasts and suffed them with the amounts I like of each ingredient, like extra spinach. I used extra wine in the skillet so that I could make a wine sauce after I took the chicken out. It was great toghether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I gave it a five star rating, but I did incorporate a few changes of my own and some suggested by other reviwers. I used fresh basil leaves (only a few per roll) - omitted the spinach - finished it off in the broiler for 2 minutes - and seasoned the breasts with fresh garlic and onion powder before assembling and rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I am actually rating my version of this recipe. I bought thin cut chicken breasts, rolled them up with FRESH spinach, proscuitto, provalone and 1 basil leaf (under the spinach so it soaks into the chicken). I rolled them in breadcrumbs, secured them with toothpicks and browned the outside in olive oil and garlic. Then I put them into a baking dish, poured in the garlicky olive oil from the pan added about a tablespoon of butter, tore up a couple of sage leaves, poured in some white wine, covered the pan and baked them for about 20 minutes and then uncovered for 10. Awesome, awesome. It was one of the best things I have ever made. The sage made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Excellent dish! I did exactly how the recipe directed except instead of cooking for 20 minutes, I cooked for 10-12 minutes and that was sufficient since the chicken is very thin. I served this dish with asparagus with hollandaise sauce, and garlic & herb red potatoes. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lackawaxen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lords Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
After reading several reviews I made a few alterations to this recipe, but have to give credit to Crystal for providing the basis of a delicious recipe! I layered prosciutto, provolone and fresh spinach leaves on the pounded chicken breasts and add some chopped sage leaves; rolled them up and secured with toothpicks. I then browned them in 2 tbs. olive oil. Added a little salt and fresh ground pepper. When they were evenly browned on all sides I took them out of the pan and put them in a baking dish. I added a cup of white wine to the pan and let it reduce for about 10 minutes. I then added the wine to the baking dish and put it in a 350 oven for about 25 minutes. Everyone raved at this dish! Restaurant quality! I can't wait to make it again --so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Awesome. I added mushroom. Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe, but i also made a few changes. Used chicken cutlets and pounded them even thinner. Sprinkled each with kosher salt and garlic powder before laying ingredients I did use frozen chopped spinach ( its all I had on hand) Used toothpicks to hold closed then I sprinkled with italian breadcrumbs and browned them lightly in olive oil and garlic. then I set them aside in a corningware and made an awesome sauce with the pan drippings and chicken broth and MORE garlic ( we LOVE garlic) . added a drop of lemon juice and a little bit of white wine and some fresh chopped parsley. Added the sauce to the Corningware and sprinked with fresh grated cheese. cooked in the oven for 30 min. Basted a couple of times. Some of the cheese melted out, but it made the sauce even tastier! Not dry at all and my husband was raving. I froze 4 of them and some of the sauce to eat again next week. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Crystal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
No spinach used mozzarella cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States