Crystal's Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I used fresh spinach and added sage leaves between the chicken and prosciutto since that's how I had it in Cambridge. Rolled in breadcrumbs and fried in butter, then sauteed more sage, deglazed the pan with wine, poured over the chicken and baked. Possibly the best thing I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This recipe was excellent. Just a word of advice, after you roll the chicken and you are securing with toothpicks -do whatever you need to in order to keep the ends together. Don't worry if the toothpicks are going everywhere and it doesn't look so pretty while cooking, it will hold together perfectly once you take them out. I also changed a couple of things. I did decide to just cook the chicken for a couple of minutes on each side in the skillet with some garlic and olive oil. Then I placed the chicken into a greased baking dish and just poured sauvignon blanc all over it, and I do mean allllll over it. I baked it at 350 degrees for probably 25 minutes. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is so, so, SO good!! I took a queue from another recipe and added a couple of cloves of crushed garlic to my olive oil. I added half of the garlic / olive oil to the spinach, and used the other half for brushing over the chicken. We used a dry sauvignon blanc. The only reason this gets a 4 instead of a 5 is because the chicken WAS a little dry. It still tasted awesome, but I would have preferred a moister chicken. I will either cover the pan or bake in the oven next time to see if it helps with the dryness. We served this alongside Grilled Garlic Artichoke and Roasted Garlic Cauliflower (both from this site). Amazingly enough, we didn't feel that we had too much garlic, but it was DEFINITELY too much oil. All three dishes relied on olive oil and it was a bit much. Other than the over abundance of oil, the three dishes went really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I took the suggestions of others and sauted the fresh spinach and fresh mushrooms. Baked at 400 degrees covered and then uncovered the last 10 minutes. My husband and I enjoyed this meal very much. I'm not big on chicken, but this was a delightful meal and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Recipe did not specify to pound chicken breasts so that they are thin. If this isn't done, it is difficult to roll and chicken takes much longer to cook. I liked the spinach in with the rest of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This dish came out great, I took some suggestions from other readers-I used fresh spianch and sauteed the spinach with some mushrooms and garlic. I lightly breaded the chicken with italian seasoning, browned it a bit in the wine and then baked it in the oven. I added some chickenn broth, garlic and mushrooms to the left over wine to make a nice sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I am actually rating my version of this recipe. I bought thin cut chicken breasts, rolled them up with FRESH spinach, proscuitto, provalone and 1 basil leaf (under the spinach so it soaks into the chicken). I rolled them in breadcrumbs, secured them with toothpicks and browned the outside in olive oil and garlic. Then I put them into a baking dish, poured in the garlicky olive oil from the pan added about a tablespoon of butter, tore up a couple of sage leaves, poured in some white wine, covered the pan and baked them for about 20 minutes and then uncovered for 10. Awesome, awesome. It was one of the best things I have ever made. The sage made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was a great dish....but only because I altered it. First, I used fresh spinach instead of frozen...it was a great taste, I could not imagine using limp frozen spinach. Also, I folded the breasts in half and closed with toothpicks instead of rolling it. Then, I cooked the chicken in the pan for only a minute or two on each side. Then I moved it to a baking dish, poured in the wine and let it bake in the oven....I think I was about 400 degrees for 35 minutes or so. I used a baster a few times to baste the wine over the chicken. I served it with Garlic Parmezan Orzo...(also found on here) and Asaparagus. It was a dinner that my guests complimented me on all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
A good meal but needs some improvement. I followed the recipe to a T and wish I had read the other reviews first. I had my deli cut the prosciutto too thin so its taste was lost. I served it with an easy orzo, sauted red pepper, tomato and garlic dish- yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States