Cry Babies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2001
The chocolate chips are a tasty surprise in this molasses cookie. Real easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
I was apprehensive about the ingredients in this recipe. No egg for one, lots of molasses, and the looks were not that appealing as I was mixing up the dough. Glad that I made it as it is very good, very easy, and has a wonderful flavor. Thanks for sharing! I will be making this again and again. My husband thanks you also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I know where the name came from. My children turned into crybabies when they ate them all! Had to make some more! Thanks! :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This recipe is great! My sister and I made it and were a little skeptical about using so much molasses and choc chips, but were pleasantly surprised. To make them a little healthier, we make them with whole wheat flour and 'I can't believe it's not butter-light' tub vs. stick butter. We also use black strap molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
You know, I was really surprised by the combination of ingredients as opposed to how good these tasted. I read the reviews and they sounded like a winner, but I started making them and said "Oh, is this right? Chocolate chips? Hmmm..." But they turned out great. Almost like mini spice cakes w/ chocolate. The only advice I'd give is: Don't attempt to double-batch them in a standard Kitchen-Aid mixer. (My cup runneth over!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I thought these were an excellent flavor, i loved em, the combination of everything was great, got a few mixed reviews from others though. one thing, they turned out puffy and cake-like, possibly due to no egg??? wasn't a huge fan of the puffiness, overall a great cookie, recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahkhas
Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is a keeper. I was looking for a recipe that called for a lot of molasses since I had a lot to use up and was happy to find this, especially when I realized that it didn't call for eggs because I didn't have any. I also didn't have any ground ginger so I used juice from fresh ginger. I also only used 3 cups of chocolate chips. The family loved it, even my husband who rarely wants any cookie unless it is a chocolate chip cookie. He said that if he had had a glass of milk (which we were out of) he would hardly have noticed it wasn't a regular chocolate chip cookie. I loved having something different for a change, so it was a win-win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very rich cookies ,i should agree with the others who say they don't look promising at all during preps, but a pleasant surprise once baked. I actually liked them; my husband who doesn't appreciate very mixed flavors didn't ..So i guess that's about what you're looking for .Thanks for sharing the recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
When I copied this recipe, there was only 1 review. No eggs?? I couldn't believe it. I figured they'd run off the cookie sheet without at least 1 egg, so I added an egg. FOUR cups of chocolate chips?? Seemed like a lot. So I added some oatmeal to take up some of the space. Now I see there are 5 reviews and others survived without adding any egg. The batch I made also came out puffy, but at least they didn't run into each other on the cookie sheet. I'm waiting for someone else to taste them, though. I am having a hard time getting past the anticipation of the mixture of molasses and chocolate flavors, but wanted to try a new cookie recipe to add to my collection. I'm pretty sure the cookie monsters in this house will like them, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
i did not have good luck with these. don't know how to put my finger on what the problem was but they just weren't very yummy, nor were they pretty (VERY dark), at least not to me. i tried "jazzing them up" with toffee bits, but that didn't work. then added banana thinking it'd taste like banana bread, and it kinda did, but was WAY too bread textured. also i didn't think they were sweet enough. i spent forever searching for a cookie recipe on here before making these, but think i'll search again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States