Crusty White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This recipe was wonderful. Cooked up really nice and was super easy to make. All my coworkers raved about it when I took it to work. I only had one problem it seemed really salty. I think next time I will try it with less salt. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COACHINGVOLLEYBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I have made this bread a half dozen times and it came out perfect every time. This bread is absolutely perfect for my taste. PERFECT! I substituted honey for the sugar this last time. DOUBLE PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Never made bread before and I was NERVOUS! But it turned out awesome. At first I thought the dough was too "wet" but I didn't add more flour or anything else..just worked thru it. I followed it exactly and it turned out SO good!!! I WILL be making these again! Some reviews said it was bland but it's white bread. Just add a little butter and enjoy! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was the best recipe I could find. Every one loved it! My new favorite bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fantastic! Simple and delicious - what a pleasant surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Great bread-its the only recipe I use. Would give 5 stars but the directions aren't as clear as the could be. 1. When proofing the yeast diets dissolve the sugar in the warm water then add the yeast and don't touch it. 10mins is a good guide line but it leaves a lot of variables open. The yeast is proofed when the solution developed a creamy foam and starts to smell like beer. 2. Use melted butter instead of softened. It integrates better and eliminates the risk if over working the dough because you are trying to work in butter. Also a great tip someone gave me is to put a pan of water in the bottom of the over while baking the bread-it keeps it from getting too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
An excellent multi-purpose dough. I use this for making pizza pockets, pepperoni rolls, cinnamon buns, dinner rolls, and basically anything where bread is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linkerts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
made it twice now, and love this recipe! only made half the amount the first time (huge mistake lol) was amazing, soft and dense- husband and kids loved it toasted with peanut butter, I ate it with olive oil and balsamic vinegar- yum! making it again right now, reg sized recipe- made half into a loaf and the other half into 12 buns, can't wait to try!! great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This bread is delicious, but I didn't really like working with it; I never got that really workable dough feel from it that I like, it was so soggy and wet the entire time. Very bland, but good as toast or a sandwich bread. I'm still on a lookout for an awesome white bread that I enjoy making, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I've made this recipe more then a dozen times now. Comes out perfect everytime. My family loves it! Great for a quick bread during the holidays, makes great snadwichs with your leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallowell, Maine, USA
Living In: Manchester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States