Crusty White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
great stuff....easy too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I made it with whole wheat flour and baked it longer at a lower temperature, it came out impecably. It had a thick dark crust and a very tender bread, it was widely popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
It is the best!! But not that quick and easy to make to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This recipie was delicious! I made this recipe away from home and had no bread pans so I just tossed the entire piece of dough, which would have made 2 loaves into a large non-stick wok/skillet and it came out as a beautiful large round loaf! I didn't need to extend cooking time at all. I just kept my eye on it and took it out when it was brown enough. The family loved it! It even tasted great the next day...still very moist. Thanks a lot for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Great recipe for the first time bread maker. This was my first attempt at baking my own bread and I have yet to have one come out anything less than perfect! Great for making smaller loaves as well. Simple and easy to follow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I have made this a few times now, and it's the easiest recipe I have found so far, very easy, very tasty and works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This bread was fabulous! It turned out to be the perfect dinner bread. I have also used this recipe to make bread bowls and rolls. They were the best and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
delicious bread with crunchy crust! Easy to make, I used my mixer and dough hook for the mixing and kneading and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This is a lot like what the supermarkets in the Northeast used to pass off (and some still do) as Italian bread, before the "artisan bread" craze took hold. Wonderful crust, with a soft, chewy inside. The dough was so moist that it was a little tricky to work with for a beginner, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
very good bread. easy to make.I needed to add a lot more flour then was call for .The texture was good,just a bit on the heavy side nice crust was easy to cut even warm.I think spraying with water is a very important part of this recipe .I spray just befor placeing in over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States