Crusty White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
For a Professional Baker to say a Home recipe is Fantastic... is usually Just a Compliment, but I MUST say This Recipe IS Fantastic! Liquid to Dry mixture ratio is easy to adjust, if need be.The Kneading if done gently, is perfect for a fine crust and a silkin inner texture.The bake time is just right ( i use 9" X 12" X 3" pan half full of water, on the bottom rack,below the rack with the bread, for added moisture in the oven)Three Cheers to You "DINGO", Three cheers indeed.My Home Bread from now on! Thanks Again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This recipie was delicious! I made this recipe away from home and had no bread pans so I just tossed the entire piece of dough, which would have made 2 loaves into a large non-stick wok/skillet and it came out as a beautiful large round loaf! I didn't need to extend cooking time at all. I just kept my eye on it and took it out when it was brown enough. The family loved it! It even tasted great the next day...still very moist. Thanks a lot for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Fabulous! I made the bread with skim milk and all purpous flour because that is what I had on hand. I also reduced the baking time to 25 minutes. Absolutely wonderful bread! My new white bread recipe, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Instead of baking this recipe in normal loaf pans I placed a ball of dough in opposite corners of a cookie sheet to get two round loaves. One I made into a bread bowl to hold spinach dip and the other I cut into chunks to dip with. It worked out well-- I'd do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I've made this about six times now and the whole thing works perfectly. I also have added wheat germ and oat bran, raisins, craisins and dried cherries. (no, not all at once.) When you add anything dry you need to adjust the wet ingredients as well. The dough is beautiful all the time and the bread has a lovely silky texture. I do tend to hand knead a bit longer than I might have done with a whole wheat for instance-but the dough comes out very silky and terrific. I make this all the time and my family loves it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Made half the recipe and it was EXCELLENT. Moist, nice crust, even light airy crumb and lovely flavour. I had to use about 1/4 cup more flour than called for. The dough is slightly wetter which makes the bread so moist so don't try to add more flour to make it drier. The dough also is quite spongy when shaping for loaf - that is normal so don't try and squeeze all the gas out. Baked for 25 mins @ 400F middle shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I love this bread! I've been looking for a great loaf bread to use for toast, sandwiches, etc. I change the recipe to 12 servings for only one loaf. I also like the flavor a lot more when I use honey rather than sugar; I use about 1 tbsp. When I make one loaf, I generally use @ 3-1/2 cups flour. I bake mine for about 25 minutes and it has a nice density and chewiness that I enjoy. I brush mine with melted butter rather than mist with water. GREAT for morning toast w/ a pat of butter. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberrygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Great recipe for the first time bread maker. This was my first attempt at baking my own bread and I have yet to have one come out anything less than perfect! Great for making smaller loaves as well. Simple and easy to follow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Good basic white bread. I brushed my loaves with melted butter when they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Good basic white bread recipe. Nothing fancy and the taste is rather bland so you will need to add something like jam or an herbed butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States