Crusty White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I make this bread all the time now. Everyone loves it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jay, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I used all purpose flour (didn't have bread flour on hand) and halved the recipe, but really didn't have any problems making this bread. Dough was a little sticky so I added some flour while kneading, but no problems. My husband and I liked the basic taste of white bread (no frills) and I am going to make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I really like how my bread turned out. I am definitely a novice - this was my first attempt at making homemade bread. I ended up using over a cup of extra flour during kneeding because it was very sticky and gooey. However, it turned out great and my five year old son enjoyed a PBJ soon after. I think it is perfect for sandwhiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe definitely did not meet my expectations. The dough was extremely soft and hard to knead. It rose fine, but after I put it in the oven it didn't rise any more and the top fell in. I tried it to see if the taste was any better but it's pretty bland. I think I'll stick to my old bread recipe. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakeratheart
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I am not a big fan of white bread but this one came out great. It was nice and soft on the inside and crusty on the inside. I used it for bread pudding and it worked out well. I will keep this recipe for further uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
For a first timer...this recipe is easy and it turn out eatable....but i wasnt happy with the smell n texture of the bread...it doesnt feel like the one i bought from the bakery. I think its the yeast that i'm using....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This makes wonderful white bread. I did reduce the salt to 1/2 Tbls. and it was just right for us. Also made it using 2c. wheat flour which was even better. Thanks Holly for this recipe, it will be a staple at my house. maryann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann Lackey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Bread has so few ingredients you'd think it would be hard to mess up, but I am horrible at making it. After reading the reviews for this recipe, I had to give it a try. Other than cutting the recipe in 1/2 to make only one loaf, I changed nothing about the recipe and it was the most perfect loaf of bread I ever made. I knew it was going to be a good just by the the silkiness of the dough when I was kneading it. Even the rise times were spot on for me. I baked at 400 and checked it at 20 minutes and it was a perfect golden brown and done baking. I think using bread flour over plain white flour makes a huge difference. This recipe will be "my bread recipe" from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrilla
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Did anyone else notice that the ingredients call for 3 cups of flour but the instructions say to add 4 cups to start and add 1/2 cup increments? What is the true total that should be used? This bread received raves and I would love to give it a go...anyone?? Im gonna give it 4 stars just to get this posted...I am sure it will go to 5 when I actually try it. Cant wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soaplady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made this recipe after trying a couple of different ones from this site. I found the measurements to be off as some others have noted. The recipe took way more flour than stated I added at least an extra 1 1/2 cups and it was still pretty sticky and hard to work with. In the end I did get bread but the crust was very tough and the bread tasted more like an english muffin. I definitely wont make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States