Crusty White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a terrific and easy recipe. I made this recipe one evening, and let the loaves sit on racks in their pans overnite. The next morning I noticed that the loaf bottoms were a little soft and moist; so I put them on a pizza stone in the oven @ 400 for about 15 minutes to crisp up the crust. Otherwise, don't change a thing! Thanks for a fail-safe bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This produced a nice crust and a soft, melt in your mouth interior. As with many others, I found I had to add more flour since it was very difficult to handle with just the 6 cups stated in the recipe. Once I added enough, it was great to work with. I should have taken a picture before I bagged the loaves - beautiful rise, nice and tall, perfect for sandwiches. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
WOW!!! Great bread, so easy to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreve, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
MMMMMM!!! Ate it warm out of the oven, with margarine and apricot jam, just the way I remember it from my Grandma's kitchen. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
For a whole year I refused to buy bread, and only made my own. This is the only bread recipe I used and quickly commited it to memory. This dough yields excellent rolls for bun-style sandwhiches, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Turned out beautiful, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great bread, will keep it in my list of white breads to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
A great white bread. I followed the recipy exactly and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I make this bread all the time now. Everyone loves it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jay, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I used all purpose flour (didn't have bread flour on hand) and halved the recipe, but really didn't have any problems making this bread. Dough was a little sticky so I added some flour while kneading, but no problems. My husband and I liked the basic taste of white bread (no frills) and I am going to make this again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States