Crusty White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I have never baked before in my life, literally never. I picked bread as my first experiment and this recipe. I substituted honey for the sugar and reduced the salt by 1/3rd. Used all purpose flour since that is what I had on hand. And I reduced the servings to 12 (one loaf). All I can say is awesome! I am so excited that this bread turned out so well! My wife is on vacation with the girls, she will flip when she tastes this! She whole house just smells so good when you bake bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rpage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
made with bread flour and 1/2 tsp gluten. awesome texture, next time try white flour w/gluten to see if softer middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
baked for 30 minutes. didnt have bread flour on hand , so used all purpose. tasted similar to the Carabbas loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
A very nice basic recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
absolutely Fantabulous... MMmmMMmmmmMMmmGood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Relsqui
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was delicious exactly as written, and even better using half wheat flour and half bread flour. Crusty and savory. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Nice Recipe. Very easy to customize into Herb or Italian type flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I really liked this bread recipe, however it tastes just a bit bland. I think it would be better as a whole wheat bread, but that's just my opinion. I think this recipe is also a good one for people who are just begining to learn to bake bread. I have been for a while now and found this to be one of the simpler ones i've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Wonderful! I prepared the recipe as listed but ended up needing to add more flour as it seemed a bit too soupy. End results were perfect regardless. I divided the dough in three parts, made a traditional loaf of bread with one, some burger buns with one third and some chinese steamed buns with the last portion. All were delicious! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This has become a staple in our house! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States