Crusty White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
For a first-timer, this bread was very easy and fun to make. It tasted amazing right out of the oven. Like almost everyone else said, I did have to add about 2 cups more flour to the dough because it was VERY sticky. Once that was taken care of, the dough turned out perfect! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Ok, as with other reviewers, I had to add additional flour, about 1.5 cups, but that's nothing on the recipe. Flour is very persnickety, and what was a perfect 6 cups for her one day may not have been, even the next! I really like this recipe- it reminds me of my grandmother's recipe, in taste, but somewhat of French Bread in texture. It doesn't have a pronounced flavor, but I've come to expect that of white bread, and this one has much, much more flavor than anything you buy in the store! I made this to use 2 slices in Ricotta Gnocci, but was just informed by my 7-year-old that this is a repeat recipe. Thank you! It's lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
MY FAMILY ATE THE 2 LOAVES IN ONE DAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE KAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
My family and I love this bread. I also brush mine with melted butter, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
The bread comes out looking and smelling great but that is where your expectations should end. It is very heavy and dense and not at all like the light crusty artisan bread that we all have in mind when making this recipe. If you can get past the texture then you have to contend with the taste, or lack there of. It REALLY needs salt. We had to put salt on after we buttered it just to eat it. Normally I would throw something like this away, but come on, after spending all the time kneading and rising and waiting, we were eating this dang bread! I give it 2 starts just because it did come out looking pretty. This is something I wouldn't even bother modifying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made this bread for Thanksgiving this year and it was a total hit! I usually don't measure my ingredients to anything because I think it turns out better. I went by the recipe on how to knead it and to add the last 2 cups 1/2 cup at a time. That seemed to really help the consistancy. I really liked the oil based part of it. It really does make it crispy. It was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
definitely crusty, worked well for plait but also made nice small loaves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I read the reviews on this bread and decided to try it. I make homemade bread at least once a week. This bread was totally goopy and not like any bread dough I've made before. I added well over 1 cup of flour to the dough to even get it to a consistency I could kneed. I did see other reviews that had to add flour but why would someone rate a recipe 5 stars if it wasn't quite right as written? I weigh my flour so I'm sure I added exactly the correct amount. This one seems WAY off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was my first time making bread completely from scratch, and what a user-friendly recipe it is! I think I kneaded the dough for about four minutes, max... it just "felt right" at about that time. I did have to add a bit more flour while kneading to combat glueyness, but overall very simple. I added oregano and freshly minced garlic cloves to make an Italian bread, and it worked perfectly. I don't have loaf pans, so I formed two loaves in my 13x9 clear pyrex casserole dish. The loaves baked up very nicely and looked more "Italian breadlike" because they were a little flatter and wider than traditional loaves. Filled the entire pan with bread, and the loaves broke apart very easily! THis bread was light and sweetly tasty without being overwhelmingly full of sugar. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States