Crusty Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I tried making this recipe however i made rolls like some of the other reviewers and they turned out very good. I used the dough cycle on the bread maker to form the dough and then portioned it out into 6 large rolls for sandwiches. The 6 dough balls proved until doubled in size and were then baked for 22 minutes at the preheated oven temperature of 375f until moderately brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I have searched and searched for a good sandwich bread and I believe I've found it. This bread came out great! Soft spongy inside, with a light crust outside and wonderful taste. Even hubby liked it and he loves wonder bread. This is going to be my go to recipe for home baked bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I use this recipe in my breadmaker and then bake it in the oven. I use the ingredients as listed and it turns out great. I make it on the dough setting and then pat the dough into a square and then fold in the sides and then the ends, put in a sprayed pan, cut the top down the center with a knife and bake off at 350 for 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I have made this bread three times now. Everytime my daughters tell me, "that's good bread, Mom". It's great for sandwiches - great flavor, but a little firmer than other homemade breads I've tried so it slices well and stays together for sandwiches. I also made potato rolls which were great and this morning it made amazing french toast (topped with a little whip cream and fresh fruit). I make it in my bread mixer, not machine and it's turned out great! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Substituted water with 1 1/3 cups of warm milk. Came out nice and light. Also substituted 1 1/2 teasp. of honey for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good bread! I don't use a bread machine these days, but this works well in a mixer too. I was surprised how quickly this dough proofed. You probably could scale back the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp. At 2 tsp i almost let it over proof in the loaf pan. Plus a longer rise would develop a little more flavor. At any rate, this bread turned out just fine and it has very good flavor. It also has a very nice crispy crust. Mine over-proofed a bit so it's super soft in the middle so keep an eye out for that. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soulcoffr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
The crust is delicious - almost like a brioche. The inside is chewy and buttery. We ate almost the whole loaf with honey butter before it cooled down. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Wonderful loaf! My only changes were I added 2 tbs. extra water as the dough was too dry and wasn't mixing well. Throw all the ingredients into the machine and 3 hours later.........a fabulous loaf of potato bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made three loaves of this bread over the weekend, exactly as written except used AP flour instead of bread flour! I put everything in the bread machine and it turned out perfectly! Next time, I'm going to try using the Jules Gluten free flour to make a GF loaf for me! My family loved this bread though....great for mopping up gravy with chicken and noodles, or sliced a little thinner for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Maybe I made this mistake because I'd never used a bread machine before, but you HAVE to melt the butter before you add it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States