Crusty Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is to answer the question on how to perhaps prepare this w/out a bread machine. So here goes: 1. Take 1/2 cup of the water needed and heat until warm about 110-115 degrees F. Mix this with the yeast and the sugar. Allow to bubble in an oven on WARM for 20 minutes. In the mean time mix together 1 cup of flour needed and the 1/2 cup instant mashed potato flakes, set aside. 2. Melt the butter, salt and remaining water (3/4 cup) until WARM (see temp above) and add to the first yeast mixture. 3. Then add the flour/instant mashed potato flakes to the liquids. Then, I would add the remaining flour as needed. 4. Knead dough for 10 minutes, then set aside to rise until doubled about 1 hour. Once it has risen, punch dough down and let rest 5 minutes. Then, shape dough as you want, put in bread pan, as rolls in 9x13" dish, etc. Allow to rise again, for about 45 minutes. Bake rolls at 375 for 20-25 minutes. Bake bread for 40-45 minutes or until done. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgetmenot060903

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nome, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This bread was the BEST!! My bread machine did great mixing it. I followed the suggestion of "spooning" the flour into the cup rather than scooping and I added 1/4 cup more water. I did make a couple of additional changes. I used 3/4 cup instant mashed potatoes and reduced the bread flour to 3 cups. I wanted a bit more potato flavor. I also added a teaspoon of minced garlic and 2 teaspoons of taragon. I served this with minestrone soup on a cold snowy day! Great light loaf of yummy bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I haven't tasted this bread yet (now in my oven), but want to pass along my oversight that may have cost me a loaf of reputedly great bread: I followed the recipe as listed, and gleaned/used some good tips from the reviews (increasing potato flakes while decreasing bread flour; adding more water). Started the machine....all was well. About an hour or more into the process, saw the smoke pouring from my machine! Long and short, I pulled the plug, scraped the pathetically emerging goop into a bread pan, and parked it in my oven (looks promising so far). The stuff had ballooned way over my machine's capability (1 1/2 pounds)....so I checked the recipe. I don't know how it was originally posted, but my "copy" showed a serving size of 15 (no telling what size machine/loaf that would provide). So - my query & warning: there was no bread machine SIZE (of finished loaf) provided, and I doubt my 1 1/2 pound machine should be able to feed 15. I probably needed to halve this recipe - but not being a bread baker (or bread machine user), I didn't think to analyze amounts. Do as I advise - not as I did! Be sure of your machine's capabilities!! I'll let you know if the transfer to the oven worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
WHAT A BREAD!!! This is the most fabulous bread I have tasted.. it's very moist inside and the inside has a slight texture of sourdough but not sour..a little chewy, that makes wonderful sandwiches.. and the crust is crunchy.. it is my favorite white bread ever.. I needed to use an additional 2 tbs of water over the 1 1/4 cups of water.. and also used the seasoned butter/herb potato flakes..only because it was all I had available.... everyone enjoy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
delicious. and a family favorite. I use the bread machine on dough only and bake in the oven shaping it like a french loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I sure thought I had reviewed this a long time ago because I've made it lots of times. It's so good and I love making it into 15 rolls and put in a greased 9x13 dish. Bake at 375 for about 25 minutes. Make in my bread maker on the dough cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
This potato bread is FANTASTIC...I was in the middle of baking the bread in the bread machine, when we had a power failure. I took it out of the bread pan and finished baking it in the oven. Was not sure how it would turn out, but after slicing it and eating a slice just now I can say it is the best "FROM SCRATCH" bread I have ever made.. Thanks Annette for sharing your wonderful recipe. Jill Stanley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Shores, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great toasting bread - VERY crunchy! I did follow other reviewer's recommendations and increased the potato flakes to 3/4 and water to 1 1/2 cups. The second time I made it I also decreased the salt to 1 tsp. I won't have to buy the English toasting bread anymore - this is perfect. Lovely soft white bread for sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
this is excellent - I added 1/2 cup of finely minced ham and 1/2 cup of finely chopped green onion and turned it into 8 beautiful buns. thank you for this recipe, my family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This was a very good recipe. Bread had good flavor, and nice texture. Bread holds together well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States