Crusty Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made this today and it was ok. Didn't taste like potato bread to me and did everything to the "T". Will continue my searc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Nice, nice, nice. Super-soft, yummy, moist and easy. I divided into 12 and made small rolls - just the right size to go along with supper. Brushed each bun with melted butter and baked for 25 minutes at 375 degrees. Mmm...!! I didn't have bread flour, so subbed 472g of all-purpose white flour. All other quantities were bang on. No bread machine, so mixed with steel blade of Cuisinart. At first it was very moist and the blade threatened to jam, but after a couple of pauses, it finished kneading just fine. Easy recipe; a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Great recipe! This is the best bread recipe I have found on this site. My husband even said it is the best bread I have ever made and I have used a lot of recipes from this site and cookbooks. I followed the recipe as it is written but I used Smart Balance butter not real butter. I used the bread machine on the dough cycle and then baked the bread in the oven for 35 min on 375. It turned out fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Love this bread! Have some in the bread machine right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This bread was awesome! I have been searching for a good sandwich bread for quite a while and I really think that I've found it! This bread is very soft and has great flavor. It's perfect. I do not have a breadmaker so I just used my kitchen aid. I did reduce the flour to 3 cups and increase the potato flakes to 3/4 cups. Awesome. I will definitely be making this again...probably weekly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My husband loves this bread. Turns out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
YUM! I just pulled this out of the oven, and it's delicious warm. I downsized the recipe, but used the same proportions. I used the "dough" feature on my bread machine. When that cycle was done, I kneaded it several times and rolled it into a loaf, then let it rise for a while in a glass bread pan (forgot to set timer for this step!). It was baked for about 25 minutes in a 350 degree oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious, but not very much potato flavor. We will definately make this again but it does not surpass Orowheat storebought potato dinner rolls so I gave it a 4 star. I checked the consistency during the kneading cycle and had to add 1 tbls of water.... I think that it depends on how you measure and on the humidity whether the water amount is correct. The loaf came out beautiful, rose and baked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
A definite keeper! It is a chewy, hearty bread with a great crust that will be a staple for serving with chili and stews. I just love it! I only used 1 tsp of rapid rise yeast because that amount usually makes a large loaf with most recipes in my experience . I might increase to 1.5 tsp next time just to see what happens, but I just loved the consistency the way it was, so I'm reserving judgment. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the best bread ever. We needed about 1/8 cup more water but that may have been because it's dry in winter. We used the dough cycle and made six large sandwich buns (145g of dough per bun) and they came out great. Crusty on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. They held up splendidly with roast beef hand-cut from a roast. Also tastes great by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States