Crusty Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I usually don't bake my loaf in the machine as it usually ends in disaster no matter what recipe I use. After reading the reviews I took a chance with this recipe. I'm so glad I did. Wonderful bread, nice crispy crust and terrific flavor. My husband and I agreed this is our go to bread now for the machine. No more mixes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getcookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
very good recipe--my office will enjoy the bread today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is the best bread recipe I have ever made in my bread maker and I've tried several. The crust was nice and crunchy and the inside moist and delicious. I used Idahoan Butter flavored instant potatoes and it added a buttery flavor to the bread. Can't wait to make it again with the Cheese or Chive flavored potatoes. Thanks Annette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great toasting bread - VERY crunchy! I did follow other reviewer's recommendations and increased the potato flakes to 3/4 and water to 1 1/2 cups. The second time I made it I also decreased the salt to 1 tsp. I won't have to buy the English toasting bread anymore - this is perfect. Lovely soft white bread for sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Outstanding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
yyuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmm. Love the crusty outer edge! and the taste!!, we had right out of the oven with our dinner and loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Made this today and it was ok. Didn't taste like potato bread to me and did everything to the "T". Will continue my searc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Nice, nice, nice. Super-soft, yummy, moist and easy. I divided into 12 and made small rolls - just the right size to go along with supper. Brushed each bun with melted butter and baked for 25 minutes at 375 degrees. Mmm...!! I didn't have bread flour, so subbed 472g of all-purpose white flour. All other quantities were bang on. No bread machine, so mixed with steel blade of Cuisinart. At first it was very moist and the blade threatened to jam, but after a couple of pauses, it finished kneading just fine. Easy recipe; a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Great recipe! This is the best bread recipe I have found on this site. My husband even said it is the best bread I have ever made and I have used a lot of recipes from this site and cookbooks. I followed the recipe as it is written but I used Smart Balance butter not real butter. I used the bread machine on the dough cycle and then baked the bread in the oven for 35 min on 375. It turned out fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Love this bread! Have some in the bread machine right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States