Crusty Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I made a loaf of this bread to go with some homemade chicken noodle soup. I used the bread machine on the dough setting, and baked it in the oven. It worked out wonderfully! Makes a nice crusty loaf with great texture and flavor! Went perfectly with a big bowl of hot soup on a nasty snowy stormy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Elizabeth Mastaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Wonderful bread. Followed directions but ended up having to add 1/4 cup of extra water because the dough seemed too dry. Rose perfect and great taste. Made with Cola Pot Roast II and Sauteed Garlic Asparagus from this site. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I really like this bread recipe a lot and it's almost 5 stars for me. It seems to be a bit hard for my breadmaker, however. First time I made it, I added the ingredients as listed and my machine had a hard time mixing. The second time, I added the water first, then the dry ingredients on top and just let it go without any interference from me. It does not seem to want to rise up like it should and is a bit denser than I would like but the taste is fantastic. Perhaps my bread machine isn't up to the task or maybe I need to add a little more yeast. I may try to make it by hand next time. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
MINE ROSE BEAUTIFULLY BUT FELL SLIGHTLY 10 MINUTES INTO THE BAKE CYCLE.I LET IT FINISH THOUGH AND IT WAS FINE.TASTE WAS 5 STARS AND I WILL TRY AGAIN.IT WAS MORE OF A FLAT TOP LOAF.I TRIED A PIECE TOASTED AND IT WAS DIVINE HOWEVER...DEFINATELY WORTH THE TRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I really enjoyed this bread. The texture was unique, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Great bread. This was the first recipe I made in my new bread maker and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I like the soft but not airy texture of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
delicious. and a family favorite. I use the bread machine on dough only and bake in the oven shaping it like a french loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I made this for my family and it disappeared. They liked the crusty exterior and soft interior. Used the bread machine on a manual setting and then let it rise on a cookie sheet. It made a nice round loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Good bread, but I found that I needed to add about 1/2 cup more water. I'm not sure if that's because I am at a high elevation or not. My friends love the bread when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States