Crusty Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is the best potato bread recipe I have found for the bread machine. We can easily wipe out a loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne
Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this bread to be served with chicken and vegetable soup. My family of five ate the whole loaf. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I've made this recipe at least 5 times. It always has good texture and flavor. I use dry active yeast so I increase the amount a little. I also always check the bread machine 5 minutes in and sometimes need to adjust by adding a little flour. It is always a good bread for serving alongside dinner. Some loaves sliced perfectly for sandwiches; other times I could only get thick slices. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
The bread recipe is written for a 2 or 2.5-pound bread. I’m never certain which setting to use on my bread machine. We added 1c of cheddar cheese & 1 T. of garlic powder & Italian seasoning – though all were for personal preference. The overall bread is quite good – even better as toast the following morning. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I was so suprised at how fluffy and full of flavor this bread was. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Muhammad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Thanks to the last viewer who alerted us to the fact that a smaller bread machine will not accomodate the recipe. If you change the servings from 15 to 12 it will make the recipe a good size for a 1 1/2 lb bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I haven't tasted this bread yet (now in my oven), but want to pass along my oversight that may have cost me a loaf of reputedly great bread: I followed the recipe as listed, and gleaned/used some good tips from the reviews (increasing potato flakes while decreasing bread flour; adding more water). Started the machine....all was well. About an hour or more into the process, saw the smoke pouring from my machine! Long and short, I pulled the plug, scraped the pathetically emerging goop into a bread pan, and parked it in my oven (looks promising so far). The stuff had ballooned way over my machine's capability (1 1/2 pounds)....so I checked the recipe. I don't know how it was originally posted, but my "copy" showed a serving size of 15 (no telling what size machine/loaf that would provide). So - my query & warning: there was no bread machine SIZE (of finished loaf) provided, and I doubt my 1 1/2 pound machine should be able to feed 15. I probably needed to halve this recipe - but not being a bread baker (or bread machine user), I didn't think to analyze amounts. Do as I advise - not as I did! Be sure of your machine's capabilities!! I'll let you know if the transfer to the oven worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was a wonderful bread, definitaly a keeper. I did add a cup of cheddar cheese and a small palmful of dried minced garlic, to make it a Cheddar Garlic Potato bread. Was excellent with a bowl of soup/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is to answer the question on how to perhaps prepare this w/out a bread machine. So here goes: 1. Take 1/2 cup of the water needed and heat until warm about 110-115 degrees F. Mix this with the yeast and the sugar. Allow to bubble in an oven on WARM for 20 minutes. In the mean time mix together 1 cup of flour needed and the 1/2 cup instant mashed potato flakes, set aside. 2. Melt the butter, salt and remaining water (3/4 cup) until WARM (see temp above) and add to the first yeast mixture. 3. Then add the flour/instant mashed potato flakes to the liquids. Then, I would add the remaining flour as needed. 4. Knead dough for 10 minutes, then set aside to rise until doubled about 1 hour. Once it has risen, punch dough down and let rest 5 minutes. Then, shape dough as you want, put in bread pan, as rolls in 9x13" dish, etc. Allow to rise again, for about 45 minutes. Bake rolls at 375 for 20-25 minutes. Bake bread for 40-45 minutes or until done. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgetmenot060903

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nome, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Really easy & tasty! Worked perfectly for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States