Crusty Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
can I say AMAZING!!! I followed the instructions of forgetmenot because I do not have a bread maker. It turned out perfect. Thank you both for an amazing recipe and great instructions. Also have to add that the bread may take a ill bit of time , but it is so worth it....no crumb was left behind. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This bread was delicious. It took 3 hrs to bake and after one taste it was devoured in under 5 minutes by my family. I, like others, increased the potato flakes to 3/4c and upped the water using 1 1/2c. I made this in a Zojirushi pac20 which makes a 2lb loaf. This got quite high and the outside was nice and crispy while the inside was moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
First time making this recipe. Changed it a little based on past reviews. Used 3/4 cup potato and 3 cups flour. used bread maker to knead dough and then separated into two loaves and baked in oven on 375 degrees for 25 min. Just delicious. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I tried making this recipe however i made rolls like some of the other reviewers and they turned out very good. I used the dough cycle on the bread maker to form the dough and then portioned it out into 6 large rolls for sandwiches. The 6 dough balls proved until doubled in size and were then baked for 22 minutes at the preheated oven temperature of 375f until moderately brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I have searched and searched for a good sandwich bread and I believe I've found it. This bread came out great! Soft spongy inside, with a light crust outside and wonderful taste. Even hubby liked it and he loves wonder bread. This is going to be my go to recipe for home baked bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I use this recipe in my breadmaker and then bake it in the oven. I use the ingredients as listed and it turns out great. I make it on the dough setting and then pat the dough into a square and then fold in the sides and then the ends, put in a sprayed pan, cut the top down the center with a knife and bake off at 350 for 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I have made this bread three times now. Everytime my daughters tell me, "that's good bread, Mom". It's great for sandwiches - great flavor, but a little firmer than other homemade breads I've tried so it slices well and stays together for sandwiches. I also made potato rolls which were great and this morning it made amazing french toast (topped with a little whip cream and fresh fruit). I make it in my bread mixer, not machine and it's turned out great! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Substituted water with 1 1/3 cups of warm milk. Came out nice and light. Also substituted 1 1/2 teasp. of honey for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good bread! I don't use a bread machine these days, but this works well in a mixer too. I was surprised how quickly this dough proofed. You probably could scale back the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp. At 2 tsp i almost let it over proof in the loaf pan. Plus a longer rise would develop a little more flavor. At any rate, this bread turned out just fine and it has very good flavor. It also has a very nice crispy crust. Mine over-proofed a bit so it's super soft in the middle so keep an eye out for that. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soulcoffr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
The crust is delicious - almost like a brioche. The inside is chewy and buttery. We ate almost the whole loaf with honey butter before it cooled down. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Crusty Herb Potato Wedges

See how to make perfect baked potato wedges with a crispy crust.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States