Crusty Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was easy and turned out very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: University Place, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
My manager at work gave me a bread machine and I never got around to using it until now. I didn't have a lot of ingredients but wanted something heartier than plain white bread. I also didn't want to take too much of a chance my first time using the machine. This bread is really good. Crusty on the outside, soft (but not too soft) on the inside. It is like white bread with a nicer color and texture. I used the basic medium crust setting on the machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made with wheat flour and had to increase the water by 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
put on regular bread cycle. came out ok. My husband loved the texture and density. and flavor. I was so-so. but good bread for a cornmeal-bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
For some reason, my bread was a little soggy on the bottom. I agree with everyone that this is not cornbread. It's also not the typical bread that comes out of my bread machine. It's some kind of weird hybrid. If you keep in mind that it's suppose to have essence of cornbread, it's not bad. Otherwise it's a big disappointment. It takes more like hush puppy batter without all the good mix-in's. Next time I think I'll add more sugar. If there is a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sleepingKelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Not much corn flavor. My husband liked it though because it doesn't like cornbread, so he liked that there wasn't much corn taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is the first loaf of bread that my new bread maker has truly successfully made. It must be fool proof! I did not use the hot sauce and I used self rising yellow corn meal. All my ingredients were at room temp (except the water, which I heated in the microwave with the automatic "beverage" button. I added the dry ingredients first (contrary to my machine's instructions), then the yeast in the corner, and then the water/oil to the other corner. It's best if you do not directly scoop out your flour with the measuring cups...in other words, it shouldn't be packed tightly in the measuring cups, so use a spoon to scoop into the cups first. The crust is crispy and the bread is soft and light with a hint of cornmeal. Use the lightest setting on your machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This bread was good and one I will try again. For some reason the top did fall, but it was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was surprising; I wouldn't exactly call this bread a cornbread, but I don't think it would make good sandwich bread, either, as some reviewers suggested. We enjoyed the taste very much, and the smell was d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aherrera
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My family really enjoyed this corn bread. However, I'd use a little extra hot sauce to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aherrera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States