Crusty Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
wonderful!Great taste and very light like white bread with a crisp crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Godwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I did not care for this bread at all. The loaf came out fine, but I prefer my cornbread sweet. Unfortunately this cornbread isn't even slightly sweet. I should have guessed when the ingredients called for only a tablespoon of sugar. That made me suspicious when I was putting it together. Rather disappointing, because this recipe came so highly rated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Made it with 2 cups wheat flour substituted, will go all wheat and a little more cornmeal next time but still turned out 5 stars. Half the loaf was gone in 30 minutes (mostly by me) and the crust is amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I made this in the oven, and cooked it at 375 deg. for 30 minutes, in an 8 " skillet. Very tasty, and great texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marcellus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
turned out dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This bread is very light, great texture and a nice crispy crust but the cornmeal is much too crunchy, it's not cooked. I will make this terrific bread again but because we prefer cornmeal cooked I will soften the cornmeal first. I think if I soak the cornmeal in the warm water for a bit, re-heat the water/cornmeal mixture before putting it in the bread machine the results should be a "no crunch" cornmeal - I hope. I'm sure more water will be required if the cornmeal is soaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this bread turned out. I always have to add an extra half cup of flour to my bread machine recipes otherwise there is too much moisture and the loaf will fall. My husband even thought that this is one of the better recipes that I have tried, and he doesn't usually care for bread done in the machine. I don't really care for the dry crust that bread machines tend to make, so I wrap the loaf in plastic wrap when it is warm. This really helps the crust to stay soft. Since the bread is usually eaten in a day or two, I don't worry about the extra moisture in the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this bread to go along with a bowl of my turkey taco stew. It came out great! My family raved about it! and even my husband, who is often not a fan of the bread machine breads, loved it! we used the rest the next morning for toast. Delicious!! i changed a few things a little: instead of vegetable oil i like to use coconut oil for both the nutritional boost and flavor, and i added a big tablespoon of honey for extra sweetness. Thank you for this recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Easy interesting hybrid of regular bread and cornbread. Turned out really well for chili night. It also makes very delicious toast, somewhat similar to english muffin bread. Would definately make again, got the thumbs up from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My family loved this bread. It's a little grainy, a pretty color, a change from eating regular white or wheat. Delicious toasted, for sandwiches or plain. Perfect for breakfast or with dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States