Crustless Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
i made this following the recipe as written the first time and thought it was OK, but needed some changes. Second time I doubled the batter and kept the cranberries to one bag; I used 1/2 cup almond flour (ground almond) plus 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour to give me 2 cups of flour and like I said I doubled the other ingredients except for cranberries. I also used 1/2 tsp almond extract plus 1 1/2 vanilla because I knew the almond flour would give plenty of almond flavor (which I adore). I added toasted slivered almonds instead of walnuts. I used a ceramic deep dish pie plate and it was perfect for the amount of batter. I topped the batter with washed raw sugar to give it a little bit of crunch. I baked for about an hour but it could have used a bit more time; I think baking time is one of the hardest things to pin down, especially when I modify a recipe. At the end of this process I had a beautiful cake/pastry that reminded me of the Danish holiday pastries a loved and devoured when I lived in Seattle. The use of almond flour gives this cake a texture and flavor similar to marzipan. The cranberries give it a bright burst of freshness that balances the sweetness. It might not be everyone's idea of a success, but my family really loved it. o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Delicious!!! I made it for thanksgiving and everyone loved it!!! The only alteration that I made to this recipe is that I used 100% whole wheat flour instead of regular flour and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix, and it came out to be very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. I didn't have a pie pan so I used a cake pan which worked just fine. Because I wanted a local dish, I swapped the cranberries and walnuts for satsumas and pecans. The cake came out great, done after 40 minutes in the oven and still yummy after sitting out for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Absolutely wonderful and so festive looking! After reading comments, I used 1/2 tsp. almond extract and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Also, I put a handful of cranberries on top just before baking so they pop open and make a better presentation. So easy and delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is fantastic! I substitued Gluten Free flour and it was wonderful!. We cut it up, and froze it in individual baggies - and I just thaw and it and am amazed at how great it tastes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suziehomemaker
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was so easy and delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this for the first time! Don't think it was all that great? Read other comments and made it with almond and vanilla. It still had a nice almond flavor, glad I did use half and half. Didn't add extra sugar to the top, sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I wanted to make this recipe but only had frozen blackberries. So I tried it and left out the walnuts--it is amazing. So good I will continue to experiment with other berries, including cranberries! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
very easy.. I used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
See postscript at bottom.... Well, I am giving this 4 stars because I can't just leave a comment without the stars, too--but really, I didn't make this per recipe. I tried what someone else said worked for them--using applesauce instead of butter. I also used a La Creuset pie dish and not a regular pie dish. The result was not good! So disappointed. It came out like rubber. Taste was good, kind of mild, but really rubbery. Sorry I tried it with apple sauce first, but was trying to accommodate a dairy-intolerant guest who is coming for dinner tomorrow. Big mistake. I will try again the right way one day. Afterthought: Now I'm wondering if I didn't add the right amount of flour and sugar. I was doing so many dishes at the same time (for Thanksgiving), so maybe that is the real reason it got messed up!!.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States