Crust for Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I really liked this crust. I think shortening makes much better crusts than butter. I made it using about a pound of leftover pot roast with the potatoes and carrots in a 9x9 pan. I also brushed a mix of egg and water on the top for a golden crust. My husband loved it and said I could make this whenever I want. I will definitely use this crust in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
i made this recipe last night, and it turned out very well. next time, i would probably bake it for less time before filling it, because it got a bit tough. i would also have pricked the bottom crust with a fork before baking it, because it puffed up in a few places when i baked it. otherwise, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
In all the years I've baked & cooked this was the first time I've made a pie crust, and now I'm wondering what I was so afraid of! This was so easy to make, and the result was a very delicious & flaky crust. I took a previous reviewer's suggestion & added some shredded cheese & dried parsley. I used it for a turkey pot pie and it was perfect! The only thing is the dough was a little bit sticky, but I just rolled it between wax paper and it was fine. Also I used a 9' pie plate and it was barely enough, but I made it work. Next time I think I will increase the recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Very good crust although i did have to add more water than suggested overall quick n easy :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made this for a chicken pot pie, and the crust was PERFECT. Crispy on the top side, soft where it touches the filling. Scrumpcious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jtms

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Nice and flaky. I used this with the Gram's Chicken Pot Pie recipe and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
great crust, i just didn't bake it enough. I baked for 25 minutes. It needed another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Easy and yummy. I've made this a number of times with all different recipes. Always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was great. I used it as crust for pot pie and my guy RAVED about how buttery and flakey it was. A few days later after inhaling his leftovers he was still in the mood for pot pie and purchased a Trader Joe's version. "No comparison. Remind me that your version is the best," was the response. Kudos for making me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States