Crust for Veggie Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
had trouble getting it to roll out tried adding more flour and it crumbled tried adding more water and it stuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Easy as pie! ;) I use this recipe all the time for my pot pies, be they veggie, chicken or beef. Sometimes I substitute butter for shortening, as it has more flavour that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was fantastic! My family was amazed by the homemade chicken pot pie I made with this recipe! I'll use this recipe a lot, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Just perfect for my beef pot pie. Nice and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This pie crust tasted very good! I used butter instead of shortening, and it came out just fine. My only complaint is the black spots on the crust. Thank you for sharing this recipe! God bless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This turned out to be a great crust for my vegetable pot pie. As another reviewer suggested, I added some dry oregano, but I imagine it would taste good just as is, and interesting to experiment with other herbs/seasonings. I also used Spectrum vegan organic shortening, which had a nice texture when mixing with the flour. I haven't had a pot-pie for at least 20 yrs (haven't eaten meat since then). Periodically, I check the Swanson Pot Pies at the grocery store, hoping they came up with a veggie pie (Amy's Vegan Pot Pies are too expensive for my liking), so I'm really excited to have found this great crust that's almost just how I remember it, but much healthier! Only part I miss is the skin-like dough along the bottom and sides, whereas this one is more crusty and browned. But I can't deduct stars for that; afterall, this is a Crust recipe! Next time, I'll try baking it for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My individual chicken pot pies came out great using this pie crust recipe. I did line my glass pyrex bowls with part of the crust and baked them for 15 minutes at 400 degrees before I added the filling and the top crust. Then baked for another 40 minutes at 400 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
My very first time ever making a pot pie crust. This was so easy to make and tasted really good. Thank you so much for sharing. I will be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Wonderful crust! This crust turned out perfectly and I will be using this recipe again. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Ive made this two times now for pot pie crust and it came out great each time. This is my "go to" recipe for pot pies when I need to make my own crust. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States