Crunchy Wheat and Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Super super bread! I halved this recipe since my bread maker has a small flour capacity and it turned out one small loaf that was completely devoured by 3 people before it had time to cool (literally, it was gone in about 10 minutes). This is SO good and I love the fact that it's not too sweet and it has a great crust and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This is very tasty. I really enjoyed this bread because it has such a nice texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
very good bread: nice texture, great taste. Great way to use up Grape-nut cereal that I bought during a weak moment, then regretted...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Rises nicely considering all the wheat flours, slices well and has good texture & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Very sweet and yummy! It was gone very quickly. I will be making this again when I want a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I loved this--it's sweeter than most yeast breads, but not as sweet as a cinnamon bread. You can definitely taste the honey, and best of all, it's got a slight crunch from the Grape Nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
This bread is awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This bread rocked, and our family didn't think that this bread was too sweet, especially for meats like honey baked ham or turkey. I used 1/2c. flax seed instead of grapenuts because I didn't have any grapenuts in the house. I also cooked it at 375 for about 35 minutes and let it have 2 risings. (I don't have a bread machine.) Delicious!! Try it! you won't be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have been searching for a "Healthy" bread recipe and one that I could incorporate with more flax seed. Well, this is the one!! This is a fantastic bread recipe. I believe this is healthy AND tastes good. This is a nice heavy bread and is so good toasted. I used 1/2 cup flax seed in place of the grapenuts & it turned out perfectly. I am going to make my next batch into rolls. I think they would go over really well in this family. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jesusislife
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was such a wonderful bread! A great change and accompanied our St. Patrick's Day dinner beautifully! It is sweeter than normal breads, but everyone in the family liked it a lot. I'll be using this recipe again! One Change, I didn't have any Grapenuts, so I used 1/2 cup milled flax seed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States