Crunchy Wheat and Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have been searching for a "Healthy" bread recipe and one that I could incorporate with more flax seed. Well, this is the one!! This is a fantastic bread recipe. I believe this is healthy AND tastes good. This is a nice heavy bread and is so good toasted. I used 1/2 cup flax seed in place of the grapenuts & it turned out perfectly. I am going to make my next batch into rolls. I think they would go over really well in this family. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This bread rocked, and our family didn't think that this bread was too sweet, especially for meats like honey baked ham or turkey. I used 1/2c. flax seed instead of grapenuts because I didn't have any grapenuts in the house. I also cooked it at 375 for about 35 minutes and let it have 2 risings. (I don't have a bread machine.) Delicious!! Try it! you won't be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
this bread was delicious. i left out the sugar as it was sweet enough with just the honey and used a combination of cracked wheat and flax seeds instead of the grape nuts. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Rises nicely considering all the wheat flours, slices well and has good texture & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I am russian and been loking for taste of the bread like I had at my homeland .This bread has very close taste to my childhood's bread.Very good!!!I didn't use honey and brown sugar (I don't like sweet bread.I am excepting sweeteness in the cake,not bread)I added 2 tablespoon white sugar so yeast rise well,but it didn't give sweeteness to bread,just perffect balance of the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Very tasty. I used 1/2 c All-Bran instead of the Grape-Nuts. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I made this bread yesterday afternoon exactly a written in a Sunbeam on whole wheat setting. Nice flavor but very dry and crumbly. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Secret Agent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Super super bread! I halved this recipe since my bread maker has a small flour capacity and it turned out one small loaf that was completely devoured by 3 people before it had time to cool (literally, it was gone in about 10 minutes). This is SO good and I love the fact that it's not too sweet and it has a great crust and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was a delicious loaf! I didn't have any grapenuts cereal, so I just used the equivalent measurement of Multigrain Cheerios.....what a success :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I loved this--it's sweeter than most yeast breads, but not as sweet as a cinnamon bread. You can definitely taste the honey, and best of all, it's got a slight crunch from the Grape Nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States