Crunchy Wheat and Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have been searching for a "Healthy" bread recipe and one that I could incorporate with more flax seed. Well, this is the one!! This is a fantastic bread recipe. I believe this is healthy AND tastes good. This is a nice heavy bread and is so good toasted. I used 1/2 cup flax seed in place of the grapenuts & it turned out perfectly. I am going to make my next batch into rolls. I think they would go over really well in this family. Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This bread rocked, and our family didn't think that this bread was too sweet, especially for meats like honey baked ham or turkey. I used 1/2c. flax seed instead of grapenuts because I didn't have any grapenuts in the house. I also cooked it at 375 for about 35 minutes and let it have 2 risings. (I don't have a bread machine.) Delicious!! Try it! you won't be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
this bread was delicious. i left out the sugar as it was sweet enough with just the honey and used a combination of cracked wheat and flax seeds instead of the grape nuts. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I am russian and been loking for taste of the bread like I had at my homeland .This bread has very close taste to my childhood's bread.Very good!!!I didn't use honey and brown sugar (I don't like sweet bread.I am excepting sweeteness in the cake,not bread)I added 2 tablespoon white sugar so yeast rise well,but it didn't give sweeteness to bread,just perffect balance of the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Rises nicely considering all the wheat flours, slices well and has good texture & flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Very tasty. I used 1/2 c All-Bran instead of the Grape-Nuts. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I made this bread yesterday afternoon exactly a written in a Sunbeam on whole wheat setting. Nice flavor but very dry and crumbly. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Secret Agent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was a delicious loaf! I didn't have any grapenuts cereal, so I just used the equivalent measurement of Multigrain Cheerios.....what a success :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Great bread! I knew this would be eaten quickly, so I doubled the recipe! Instead of using brown sugar, I just used more honey. This bread bakes nicely in bread pans in a 400 oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I used this recipe in a bread maker.It turned out wonderful, great texture and everybody loves the sweetness.Iused flas seeds and sunflower seeds. (Its what I had)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Griggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States